The Oasis at Goose Creek, SC

 

Acts 28:30 – 31 And for the space of two years, Paul was living in the house of which he had the use, and had talk with all those who went in to see him. (31) Preaching the kingdom of God and teaching about the Lord Jesus Christ without fear, and no orders were given that he was not to do so.

In two days I will be flying to Goose Creek, South Carolina, to spend some time with my son and daughter-in-law at their House Church, “Oasis.” During this six-day vacation with family, I know I will be totally immersed in God’s kingdom. To them, church is something that comprises one’s total being on a minute-to-minute basis. The concept of House Church also implies that church is not a building instead, it is about people who gather in close Christian relationship with each other; with Christ as its Head Pastor.

To say I’m excited to visit them would be an understatement as, I most likely will have a Godly “tune-up”, while visiting there. It is my son, who introduced me to the powerful Nooma videos by Rob Bell, John Piper’s sermons, Paul Tripp’s writings and E-sword. And, it is my daughter-in-law, with her great capacity for love and understanding that makes one immediately feel accepted.

I’ll be taking pictures and blogging during my stay so, please check back as I detail some of the goings on at Oasis.

Father, bless your church in all its forms, shapes and sizes. Each is a yearning expression of children seeking a closer relationship with You. Amen

~ by Andrea T on August 26, 2008.

6 Responses to “The Oasis at Goose Creek, SC”

  1. We excited that you’re almost here! I suppose with all the picture-taking, I’ll have to apply a little make-up so as not to scare the masses! LOL Love ya and your room awaits you!

  2. oh man… we are going to have to hide all our alcohol, secular music, clean up our language, and dust off our Bibles and dig out the Christian music, and get rid of the tv… with that kind of intro…. just kidding… we too are looking forward to it…

  3. No wonder I’m enjoying your posts. John Piper? Paul Tripp? These are men of God faithfully proclaiming God’s word.

    Hope you have fun on your vaca. I’ll be praying God renews your heart, mind, soul, and strength. If you get a chance and haven’t already, check out my e-news articles on the cafe ministry I manage. I hope they encourage you the way you’ve encouraged me.

    Tim Van Arsdale
    http://www.cafe4111.info/Medina/enews/tabid/59/Default.aspx

  4. May God grant you safe passage an renewal in Him and His people, the church.

    Day by day continuing with one mind in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they were taking their meals together with gladness and sincerity of heart, praising God and having favor with all the people. And the Lord was adding to their number day by day those who were being saved. Acts 2:46-47

    The saved are the church and the church is the saved. Bryan

  5. As a native South Carolinian (and former resident of Charleston), I look forward to your updates from Goose Creek! Blessings for your journey.

  6. Derek and Connie, one more day! I can’t wait!

    Hi Tim, Paul Tripp’s book, “Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands,” radically changed the way I look at sin. I wish I had read it a long time ago instead of feeling insulted when someone said, “we’re sinful” John Piper is a master, his sermons and writings are deep and Biblically correct. It was what I had been starving for all along and didn’t know it.
    And, I’m enjoying your newsletter and am in awe at your wonderful ministry. God bless you.

    Hi Bryan,

    I love your new icon and header for your site. It’s so appropo. I’ll still be reading your devotionals while I’m away. thanks for your prayers and encouragement.

    Hi Kathryn,

    I love South Carolina, although I’m a northerner by birth, I’m a southerner in heart. I love the bible Belt, its people, its beauty… and I could go on. Thanks for visiting my site!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

