El Roi: The God Who Sees Me

650x433xoct_jpg_pagespeed_ic_zJ3W1zG4iQ

 

 

 

 

 

 

Genesis 16:13 New Century Version (NCV)

13 The slave girl gave a name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are ‘God who sees me,’” because she said to herself, “Have I really seen God who sees me?”

It seems as if nothing has gone right lately.  Between the roof’s constant leaking and things needing to be fixed on the car never a day goes by without something else breaking down.

On some days, even though the sun is shining I can’t see it through the worry and fear for my future.

Today, an Email devotional speaks of the names of God and mentions El Roi,

The God Who Sees Me.  For some strange reason this Name brings me comfort. Certainly if He is the God Who sees me, then, He knows all of my needs.  I think of Scriptures that tell of this “all watchful and all seeing God:”

He has my name written on the palm of His hand, He knows the number of hairs on my head… I feel a sense of guilt because I have not been consistent in my prayer life .  Immediately a thought occurs: His love and care are not conditional. He is not a God who keeps score.  However, if I really saw God as He is would I ever doubt that He has forgotten me? I guess not.

I look out the window and a brilliant blue sky is dotted with white puffy clouds.  The sun’s rays illuminate the landscape and I know I am safe.

2 Chronicles 16:9 New Century Version (NCV)

9 The Lord searches all the earth for people who have given themselves completely to him. He wants to make them strong.

~ by Andrea T on May 22, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

