A Glimpse of Paradise: Ephesians 6:13 – 17

I need to clear up my areas of fuzzy thinking about God and prayer. Somewhere I seem to have adopted the notion that unless I sit and pray for a solid hour in the morning, God will not be with me throughout my day.

I often sit (at the crack of dawn) on my couch, yawning and falling asleep with my Bible held in front of me, trying to pray for my self imposed, allotted amount of time. It usually doesn’t work. I can only think of five or six mornings in the past year where my system of “sixty minutes with God” resulted in my being Spirit-Filled. Yet, I continue to lash myself with the leather whip of self condemnation for neglecting to do my “daily prayers.”

Yesterday, I played hooky from morning devotions, “On The Couch.” Instead, I sang along to worship hymns (Agnus Dei, et al) in my shower, and I suddenly thought about Ephesians 6:13 – 17, as I was dressing: I pulled up my black dress pants of truth, put on my button-down shirt of righteousness, tied the laces on my black sneakers of the Gospel of Peace, and while combing my hair of salvation, I realized that I had just spent about forty minutes of “quality time” with my Savior.

My day at work went by effortlessly. In fact, I felt compelled to silently Bless everyone I came in contact with.

~ by Andrea T on May 7, 2008.

3 Responses to “A Glimpse of Paradise: Ephesians 6:13 – 17”

  1. So many times I’ve felt like spending time with God has to fit a certain mold, but it’s not so stringent. Relationships are very dynamic in nature, and it’s no different with our relationship with God. I noticed that I’m on your blogroll, and I was just wondering if I know you or if you stumbled on my blog.

  2. I was tag surfing and found your blog. I like the way you think and write so… I’m going to keep checking in. You pointed out something “key” that I have been missing: prayer as a relationship with God. I knew that, but somehow have forgotten it. Also, the fact that relationships are dynamic has set me pondering in a brand new direction. God Bless you for responding. God talks to me through others.

  3. (Eph 5:2 NASB) and walk in love, just as Christ also loved you and gave Himself up for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God as a fragrant aroma.

    (Php 4:18 NASB) But I have received everything in full and have an abundance; I am amply supplied, having received from Epaphroditus what you have sent, a fragrant aroma, an acceptable sacrifice, well-pleasing to God.

    AMEN to this posting! I see there are some other visitors!!! Kewl!

Leave a Reply

 
