Psalm 84 And The Unattended Doorway

Psalm 84:10 (NCV) One day in the courtyards of your Temple is better than a thousand days anywhere else. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the Temple of my God than live in the homes of the wicked.

Reading my Bible this morning, I realize that Psalm 84 accurately expresses my immediate internal stage of “Battle-Readiness.” I remember clearly the blessed times of being in His “Courtyard,” and I yearn so deeply to be there again.

Have I moved slightly closer to You, oh God? Today, I started my day with Your word. The sudden, almost imperceptible, changes in my thoughts result in a massive outward alteration of my daily actions. Today, I communed with You.

Dear Lord, I changed my mind, I don’t want to be Your doorkeeper anymore, can we leave the entrance un-guarded…just for today? I don’t want to regulate the flow of pilgrims coming and going into Your courtyard. I don’t want to stand from a distance, checking each person’s readiness to ENTER. I want to step over the threshold and be deep inside: near You, with You and there, in Your courtyard, I can see in my mind’s eye, both of us, beckoning to the distant doorkeeper, “Leave your post, come on inside, with us.”

~ by Andrea T on May 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “Psalm 84 And The Unattended Doorway”

  1. I know God delights in your determination to be closer to Him. “The Lord delights in those who fear Him, who put their hope in His unfailing love.” Psa. 147:11 The other verse I like that describes how God feels about you is Zeph. 3:17 “The Lord your God is with you…He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.”

    I like how you say you can see you and God with your mind’s eye. I can too, but you don’t hear people talk about it much. I wonder if I’m the only one sometimes, either that or I’m crazy! (back to being crazy again) 🙂

  2. I’m glad we’re both crazy for God!

Leave a Reply

 
