Weltanschuung, 1 Peter 2

1 Peter 2:13 (ISV) For the Lord’s sake submit yourselves to every human authority…

I often look to other people for advice when I’m in a difficult predicament. My mediocre performance review (see Meatloaf 3:15 And Performance Reviews) is no exception. However, in this case, the two people I contacted for guidance about this perplexing issue apparently have been busy and unable to get back to me. All I had left was prayer. Yesterday, after communing with my Savior, I followed my “inner prompting” to surrender my situation to God (see An Icon of Surrender) and today, upon reading the first of my Emailed Daily devotionals, (was it really coincidence?) the author commented on 1 Peter 2:13. I wanted to research the phrase further and discovered through John Gill’s Exposition of the Entire Bible:

“This chapter consists of exhortations, in general, to a holy life; and, in particular, obedience to superiors.”

It’s clear, the answers to all our difficult experiences in life can be resolved Biblically. God’s guidance for living a Christian life is in many ways diametrically opposed to what modern society would have us do in difficult circumstances:

1 Peter 2:18 – 19 (ISV) 18. You household servants must submit yourselves to your masters with all fear, not only to those who are kind but also to those who are unjust 19. For, it is a fine thing if, when moved by your conscience to please God, you suffer patiently when wronged.

Obedience seems to be “key” for leading a spiritual life. 1 Peter 2 has answered all my concerns and retrospectively confirmed my decision to surrender and submit to my supervisor.

Today, a new world view emerges in my mind about my daily work: My consciousness is slowly shifting to believe that God is my supervisor, I work only for Him, and earthly evaluations have nothing to do with His view of my performance. Looking at my difficult issue in this manner, changes my whole perspective about the shame and insult I felt, knowing that the new center director and deputy director signed my horrible performance review based on my supervisor’s judgement of me.

Oh, by the way, I almost forgot to mention, last week I underwent a stringent corporate audit of my records. Yesterday, a clerk who was taking notes at the “corporate brief out” on Friday told me:

“Did you know that the auditor was praising you for your excellent records and attention to detail? She went on and on about you… the center director was there, as was the deputy director and your immediate supervisor…”

No, I didn’t know. But, God, my supervisor, just told me…

~ by Andrea T on May 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “Weltanschuung, 1 Peter 2”

  1. Imagine that… God showed up at work… very cool… you documented Him there too!

  2. I didn’t think about it, but, you’re right! Imagine, God is my corporate auditor! Thaks for your astute observation.

Leave a Reply

 
