Colossians 3:12 and Obedience

I often struggle with moods. I can feel peaceful and spiritual for weeks at a time, and suddenly, in the midst of this blissful state of being, wake up feeling miserable and distant from God. No causal thoughts precede this internal state of despair. It’s as if a mental pendulum has suddenly swung from one side to another during my sleep, and upon arising, I am different. When this happens, I ask myself, “What the heck just happened?”

I’ve been residing in this internal barren landscape and this morning, for the first time in about five days, I was drawn to read my Bible and came upon Colossians 3:12 (NLT)

12 Since God chose you to be the holy people He loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.

A thought occurs to me; the passage isn’t telling me to be merciful, kind, humble, gentle and patient, it is advising me to put on these qualities (thus, implying that these feelings may not be in residence to begin with). Imagine that! Despite what I feel, God’s word is telling me I can choose to act a certain way. Is this where obedience begins, Father? Is this where I’m being guided?

Merciful Lord in Heaven, help me to study Your word whether I’m in the mood or not and especially, during those times when I feel so far away from You. Keep leading and guiding me along this path to become closer to You and to becoming all You want me to be. Thank you for your Holy Bible. Help me today, especially, to voluntarily clothe myself in tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on May 28, 2008.

2 Responses to “Colossians 3:12 and Obedience”

  1. Great post! I’d love to carry your stuff at WilliamHallowell.com!

  2. Thank you for such heart touching openness and thoughts. It is God’s gentle spirit at work in you to be able to put such thought in words. God bless. Bryan

Leave a Reply

 
