Fly Paper and 1 Thess 5:17

1 Thess 5:17 pray without ceasing…

Many of my prayers are not answered in the way I would like but, it’s certain, prayer changes me. There was time in my spiritual journey when my motive for praying was for the feeling of peace and safety that resulted after communing with my Savior. Strangely enough, this “serene state” became more elusive when it evolved into the sole purpose for my devotions.

Now, my morning focus is more about my being a servant to God’s will and daily surrender. But, I’m noticing that this apportioned focus on God, results in only two or three hours of determination to do His will. Once I get into work, my mind collects swirling negativities and stress like a strip of fly-paper, and all resolve is dissipated by noon.

To pray without ceasing certainly appears to be the answer to this problem, but, how does one do this? I have a sudden thought, for today, each time that I am interrupted by the phone, a student, or a question from a fellow worker, I will pretend that the disruption is a prompting from God reminding me to think about Him.

Lord, I want to be your servant, but, I don’t know how. I feel like I’m in Your Holy presence and then You disappear, just when I need You the most. By the end of the day I turn into someone who certainly doesn’t look like a “spiritual pilgrim” wanting to be more like You. Show me how to be near You in all situations today, especially those that require patience, love and forgiveness. I feel battle-weary today, Lord, and I need your strength, I can’t do it on my own. Thank you for Your promise of hope and salvation. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on May 29, 2008.

One Response to “Fly Paper and 1 Thess 5:17”

  1. I resemble that remark. Your prayer is so moving. Thank you for revealing your gentle spirit to us and taking us by the hand to God’s throne room. You have God’s heart. Bryan

Leave a Reply

 
