Tramp For The Lord & Rev 3:15-16

Rev 3:15-16 (NIV)

15 I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! 16 So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

An on line friend, http://capturedbygod.wordpress.com  recommended I read Corrie ten Boom’s book, Tramp for the Lord. http://www.amazon.com/Tramp-Lord-Corrie-ten-Boom/dp/0515089931 Ironically, the reason for her suggestion, is I told her I once solo-hiked five hundred miles of the Appalachian Trail and, how it turned into being a profound and miraculous spiritual journey. She thought I would be inspired by Corrie, traveling the world alone, telling her story of hiding Jews from certain death in the concentration camps. The first three chapters convicted me of two things: that Corrie is an example of a woman “on fire” for the Lord, and I am in a dangerous place in my spiritual journey: I am truly lukewarm. http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/lukewarm

Looking at the world through Corrie’s eyes, one sees that every waking thought, action and spoken word is a dedication to Jesus Christ. Corrie doesn’t pray without ceasing, she is the living example of Christ, Himself, through her zeal and passion for doing His will. She risked her life to help save people and, through it all, her pure and simple faith guided her safely along dangerous paths.

The book has already shaken up my dulling complacency and lip-service to becoming “more like Him.” How can I be on fire for the Lord when I haven’t truly given effort to rid myself of the sins that prevent me from being closer to God?

My dear Savior, thank you again, for loving me enough to home-school me. You have put people in my life whose suggestions cause me to correct the course of my spiritual rudder, so I am on a more direct path to You. And, each whisper from You, whether it be through a daily devotional, a recommendation to read a certain book, or a synchrosnitic encounter, is deepening my faith to believe that You want me and are prompting and encouraging me to draw closer to You. Give me the strength, just for today, to live in the likeness of Christ and to be His ambassador. Give me the perserverance to resist temptaion so Your Holy Spirit will reside in me and I can fulfill Your will for my life, today. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on June 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “Tramp For The Lord & Rev 3:15-16”

  1. I’m glad you are enjoying the book. She experienced so many miracles just because she believed God would do them and would always take care of her. Isn’t that awesome?! I want to be like that!

  2. I just read “Tramp for the Lord” yesterday and today. There were so many great insights to gleam from it. What impressed me at this time in my life was how God leads those who listen to Him. Amazing things are waiting if we listen to God’s voice.

Leave a Reply

 
