The Amoeba & Col 3:22-23

Col 3:22 -23 (BBE)

22 Servants, in all things do the orders of your natural masters; not only when their eyes are on you, as pleasers of men, but with all your heart, fearing the Lord: 23 Whatever you do, do it readily, as to the Lord, and not to men.

I’m beginning to realize that the workplace is an ideal venue for spiritual refinement to take place. In fact, the more challenging the environment, the more opportunity to change and grow into His image.

Think of it, where else could we possibly encounter clashing egos, manipulations, worldly pride, high stress and relentless contradictions to our Christian faith, but, in the battleground of our daily work.

I once read a story about the single-cell amoeba, and how scientists performed an experiment in hopes of increasing its survival rate. They placed the amoeba in a tank of water and provided them with the exact right temperature, optimal light conditions and an endless supply of food. A shocking event took place, instead of rapidly increasing their numbers, the amoeba started dying at an incredible rate. Apparently, the scientists concluded, in order for the amoeba to grow strong it actually needed the daily resistance and struggle in order to survive.

Christ’s admonitions to Christians about their work is diametrically opposed to what the world would have us do: So, you have a bad boss? Christ tells us to honor them and serve them anyway. Are you persecuted and treated unfairly? Look to Christ as being your ultimate supervisor. What a challenge! Can we do it? I am convinced, not without His help.

Thank You Lord for showing me that I work for You. Instead of searching for other jobs, continue to reveal to me all the reasons why You placed me where I am. Today, with Your help, I will see every upset and resistance as an opportunity to refine my spiritual growth.

~ by Andrea T on June 3, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Amoeba & Col 3:22-23”

  1. This is am amazing post. It really encouraged me. Thank you.

    BTW, if you ever want to guest blog on backseatwriter.com, let me know. I’m sure that a lot of people would appreciate your insight.

  2. As always, God grants you the words that many of us need to hear. For me, I am struggling with a job situation too (or a lack of a full-time one, while working part-time and not being satisfied with it), and these words are what I need to hear. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
