Jesus: The Only “Ping” That Counts…

Luke 18:1 (GNB) 18 Then Jesus told His disciples a parable to teach them to always pray and never become discouraged.

Please look on the right side-bar of my blog. Do you see the widget there, “Where In The World?” I found out today the map is incorrect. It’s missing a huge red dot and not showing the all the pings I’ve been getting from God. I just discovered this malfunction myself. But, let me explain…

Many months prior to “spiritual battleground’s” inception, I had been in a constant struggle to maintain the discipline of daily prayer. Try as I might, (and with all good intentions) each morning I would sit, Bible open in front of me, prepared to be in relationship with Him. Instead, my mind would dance with visions of chores needing to be done, or any other myriad of thoughts that had nothing to do with communing with God. I would lament this fact in my personal journal and then chastise myself unmercifully with an emotional whip. I was discouraged. I knew God wanted me to meet with him daily and I knew He also wanted me to write, but, I thought, what’s wrong with me that I can’t give God an hour of my time each day?

This morning, I suddenly realize, through this blog I have been fixing my eyes on my Savior and communing with Him, almost daily. And, although I’m not writing a famous best-seller, I am recording my struggle. He publicly answered my prayer and I didn’t even know it until now. My very first blog entry, “Rescue Me From Myself,” was a continuation of my lament at not being able to keep my daily meeting with Him:

“I have not made the time for communion with You or Your word…”

Since beginning this blog, I have been communing more and more with Him, I’ve also been reading the Bible and learning His word. Further, I have been praying through these pages because now, my first waking thought is, “Lord, show me what to write about so You may be glorified…” If that’s not daily communion with Him, I don’t know what is! God is having me write this blog for me to be in relationship with Him. I’m shocked to discover that I haven’t been writing it for you, my readers.

Dear Savior, I have goose bumps running up and down my arms now, as I sit with You. You answered my prayer to become closer to You and I didn’t even know it. If I had carefully read between the lines of my own blog, I would’ve found the secret, that I stopped complaining about not being able to focus daily on You. You love us all so much: You stand, waiting at the door, wanting us to knock and ask. I asked to become closer to You and You drew me to Yourself through this blog (thank you for having me listen to my son and follow through when he suggested it.) Lord, I see now, that You have been my biggest ping and the only one who counts on my “hit-counter.” I didn’t know I was writing this for me. I am awestruck by your love for us. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on June 5, 2008.

3 Responses to “Jesus: The Only “Ping” That Counts…”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptLuke 18:1 (GNB) 18 Then Jesus told His disciples a parable to teach them to always pray and never become discouraged. Please look on the right side-bar of my blog. Do you see the widget there, “Where In The World? … […]

  2. Deacon & Usher were here….

  3. Praise You God for drawing my sister closer to You. And for drawing me closer to You as well. We are continually awestruck by You and in love with You.

Leave a Reply

 
