Luke 4:8 Whom Do You Worship?

Luk 4:8 (ESV) 4 And Jesus answered him, “It is written, You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only shall you serve.”

Isn’t it miraculous how reading a book can change our destiny? I’ve had a few of those life-shaking encounters in my lifetime, the first, reading the Holy Bible, and the most recent, from reading Paul David Tripp’s book, Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands. Prior to “Instruments…” I carried state licensure as a supervisory level substance abuse counselor in my wallet, although, I haven’t worked in the field for about four years. Tripp’s book made up my mind up that secular counseling will not work for me any longer, and I am choosing not to renew that license in September.

One of the premises of the book asks, “Who do you worship.” Tripp states that our every interaction, deed and thought precede from problems in worship:

Worship is not just something we do, it defines who we are. You cannot divide human beings into those who worship and those who don’t. Everybody worships; it’s just a matter of what or whom we serve.” p 44

What do you worship? Approval from others? Do thoughts of obtaining money consume your daily life? Do you rush home from work to snap open the lid on a can of beer? Maybe you crave recognition? Maybe you think you deserve a peaceful day at work? Whatever we worship affects and alters our primary relationship with God.

Stolen worship is at the core of what us wrong with fallen human beings.” p 45

Stolen worship” implies that in order to correct problems with behavior, such as addiction, I must first identify and correct my objects of worship. My core object of focus must always be on God and His kingdom. Our man-made addiction counseling system of identifying relapse triggers and high risk situations leave out the most important aspect of all. What do you worship?

Thanks to Pastor Derek Iannelli-Smith of “Oasis,” Goose Creek, SC,  for giving me this book. http://oasisgc.wordpress.com/

~ by Andrea T on June 13, 2008.

3 Responses to “Luke 4:8 Whom Do You Worship?”

  1. […] David Cotner wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptLuk 4:8 (ESV) 4 And Jesus answered him, “It is written, “You shall worship the Lord your God, and him only shall you serve. Isn’t it miraculous how reading a book can change our destiny? I’ve had a few of those life-shaking encounters … […]

  2. This is so true and a struggle for me to keep God first in my life, my First Love (Rev. 2:4,5).

  3. Hi there! I don’t recognize myself as religious anymore since I became aware of the people in my churches congregation as unwilling to look beyond the external appearance of people, and really just turn their back on those that don’t share the same belief. I left church due to this and went on with my own sort of worship.

    I feel that there is something out there, bigger than us. does it want to be worshipped? I don’t know. Does it want to be prayed to? I don’t know.

    One thing I do know is that the christian god is all forgiving. I don’t feel it would condem me to a firey furnace for not praying everyday or spreading his word around. I believe that as long as I’m a good human and cause no harm to others, and actually try to help others, I’ll be fine. If he is even there.

    My life is run on the basis of being a good human. Do no harm. Love one another and help those that actually need the help.

    As for worship, I worship life and try to better myself so that I can help others better. I don’t push anything on anyone and aloow others to make their own decisions on what is good for them.

    Therefore, I serve myself in the attempt to put myself in a better position to help others. Unfortuantely, god has not done a darn thing to help me that I have seen. I could make believe that he has, like I feel some people do. I don’t want to fool myself into a belief that may or may not be real.

    Enjoyed your post! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

 
