A Reason to Get Up in the Morning

 Psa 51:7 (ESV) Purge me with hyssop and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

What moves and motivates you?

…getting through the day, with the least amount of stress and negativity on my job, in order to earn money to pay for my subsistence: rent, car loan, food, etc.”

What a sad state of affairs. I believe we had two feet of snow outside and were in the clutches of a harsh New England winter when I wrote that phrase in a book. Seeing my comments on paper shocked me into self examination. How did I get to be in such an abysmal state of mind without even realizing it. How can one’s world view implode and collapse into such a self absorbed reason for living? It’s as if some cosmic hand turned the dial of my spiritual rheostat switch into an “off” position and I was moving through life in internal darkness. I’m thankful that God talks to me through His Bible or through people who come along at the exact right moment to suggest a book to read, or to encourage me. Since I’ve newly joined this world of blogging, I am being further uplifted and cleansed by the inspiring blogs I read and through meeting other Christians trying to become more like Him. Miracles still happen. Just four, short months ago I wrote about “getting through the day…” and now, my reason for getting up in the morning is focused on how I might glorify God and get closer to Him through my writing. Thank You, God, for once again, saving me from myself.

Dear Lord, thank You for purging me of the negative thoughts that consumed my mind. I’m grateful for the people I have met in this blogging universe who write encouraging posts and share many of the same yearnings as I. Guide me along the path of Your will; take me out of myself and into others. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on June 16, 2008.

2 Responses to “A Reason to Get Up in the Morning”

  1. When God changed me so much a little over a year ago, I felt like I was brought to life. Even though I was saved for years before that, it’s like I was a walking dead person. I am also thankful that He has saved me from myself.

  2. Here’s hopng that He always gives you reason to rise up! Thanks for sharing your victory over this struggle. I love the verse you quote. The hyssop is what was used to put the blood over the doorposts of the Jews before the coming of the final plague in Egypt before God’s people were allowed to leave. They were protected from the death angel by their faithfulness and unblemished blood. It is the shadow of that which gives us life each day and beyond. It is Christ’s blood that cleanses us and calls us to rise. Rise above self to His service. God bless you. –Bryan

Leave a Reply

 
