Progressive Sanctification

Phil 1:6 (ASV) being confident of this very thing, that He who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Jesus Christ.

I have a tendency to focus on how far I have yet to go in my spiritual journey. It’s almost as if I’m striving to get on God’s spiritual Dean’s List. I even have a mental roster of necessary tasks to perform to ensure my graduation into God’s kingdom:

When I lose weight it will prove that I no longer idolize food.”

If I’m kind and loving to everyone I meet it will be certain indication that I’ve eradicated pride from my life.”

Being joyful everyday authenticates me as a true Christian.”

And I can go on with examples from this enormous list. But, according to Matthew Henry’s Commentary on the Entire Bible:

Wherever this good work is begun, it is of God’s beginning: He has begun a good work in you. We could not begin it ourselves, for we are by nature dead in trespasses and sins; and what can dead men do towards raising themselves to life; or how can they begin to act till they are enlivened in the same respect in which they are said to be dead? It is God who quickens those who are thus dead.”

My yearning to become like Him only proves one thing, that God chose me to draw closer to him. It means nothing more or less; so small, but so significant. He Chose me, and the implications are far reaching. The Bible states a promise: He who began a good work in you, will perfect it.” Perhaps a change in focus is needed. What would it be like if I solidly believed that He will perfect the good in me, would my striving cease? Would I rest in assurance that all I need to do is believe, and He will do the rest? What does progressive sanctification mean to you? I look forward to your comments and remarks.

~ by Andrea T on June 23, 2008.

One Response to “Progressive Sanctification”

  1. This verse is also talking about grace.. that when I start to feel guilty about not being PERFECT (“be perfect like my father is perfect”) that I am a work in progress. When we see that the mercy and grace we receive from God is in the light you mention, that your a work in progress, then it is easier to see that He is a work in progress in others as well. I love you mom…

Leave a Reply

 
