THE GOD OF STOLEN BARBECUE GRILLS

 

Psa 9:9-10 (ESV) 9 The LORD is a stronghold for the oppressed, a stronghold in times of trouble. 10 And those who know your name put their trust in you, for you, O LORD, have not forsaken those who seek you.

I wondered if I made a serious mistake after moving into my new apartment last December. The man upstairs had a constant flow of noisy friends streaming past my door. After a few days of loud door slamming, laughter in the hallway, a drunken fight next to my car, and vibrating, booming music, I went upstairs to talk to him. He apologized and promised to keep things quieter. Now, after six months of my repeated discussions with him, the noise level has finally reached an acceptable decibel. At last, I thought, I can finally live in peace… that is, until he positioned a large barbecue grill ten feet away from my back door a few weeks ago. Then, he set up a table, chairs and sun umbrella next to the barbecue.

I truly was feeling battle-weary. I finally turned to God in prayer and said, “I’m too tired to fight anymore. I’m also so weary of this upheaval in my life, tell me what to do.” Strangely enough, I was getting strong promptings to do nothing. I couldn’t believe it. But, I reluctantly obeyed and continued to pray.

Last Saturday, someone stole his barbecue. Actually, my neighbor thinks it was his old girlfriend coming back to re-claim her property. He promptly replaced it with a smaller one that is now proudly sitting on his deck upstairs. When I look out my back window, the now far-away, festive umbrella is closed and the chairs around the table are propped in un-inviting positions. God truly has a sense of humor. He is a God of stolen barbecue grills.

Dear Lord, Thank you for teaching me that you are also a God of small matters and day to day irritations. You are a Lord of the Impossible, and also Lord of the Minutiae. Through your home-schooling, I am learning that I am not ever in any battle by myself; You are always there with me, no matter how insignificant the situation. Continue to guide me so I surrender all my situations to You, every day, during all hours. Most of all, thank You that You are allowing me to experience Your presence in my life. Last but not least, thank You for my neighbor, may he be blessed with much enjoyment now that his new, smaller, grill fits on his back porch (even he appears to like having it upstairs!) Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 2, 2008.

2 Responses to “THE GOD OF STOLEN BARBECUE GRILLS”

  1. God indeed does appear to have a sense of humor. Thanks for the pointed and humerous thoughts! Bryan

  2. That’s a great story! Isn’t it awesome how Heworks things out for us when we trust Him!? Yeah God! Bless you, sister.

Leave a Reply

 
