2 Thess 3:16 and Scented Petunias

2 Thess 3:16 Now may the Lord of peace Himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all.

Each morning I awaken to the thought, “What shall I write today to glorify God?”

I start up my computer, load my Bible software, and sit in worshipful silence. Some days inspiration comes quickly, others, there is nothing but silence. Like today, in the midst of this inner quiet I hear birds singing cheerfully outside my window, the smell of fresh air permeates my living room, and am I mistaken, there seems to be a faint scent of perfume mixed in the slight breeze. Could it possibly be from my hanging Petunias outside? In the cold northern winters I often awaken with aching joints in my back and neck, but this morning I scan my awareness over my body and notice it is comfortable and relaxed. I have no worries at all, even life’s day to day stresses and anxieties seem like far away trivialities. I am at peace.

I had my job interview yesterday and it went well. I truly do want this new position, but I have totally surrendered the outcome to God and his wisdom. How freeing not to anxiously wait for life changing decisions. How serene it is to know that He has my best interest at heart and if it’s His plan that I have new employment, He will provide it. How comforting it is to know that He is carrying my burdens today.

Dear Lord, thank you for the awareness of the chirping sparrows and the gentle breath of air. I pray for my family and friends who do not have a relationship with You. If You would, please just grant them a sweet, small glance into the serenity of Your kingdom, so they would yearn for more. Bless all who know You already, enfold Your arms around those who read this post today with a sense of awe and wonder at Your glory and mercy. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
