Psalm 119:7

Psalm 119:7 (ESV) I will praise you with an upright heart when I learn your righteous rules.

I was born to a Catholic Mother and atheist Father. I remember Mom taking my sister and me to church every Sunday, and sending us to confession on Saturdays. She made sure we received our Religious education and sacraments: Baptism, Christening, First Holy Communion and Confirmation.

However, I moved out of her home when I turned sixteen to start a new life and neither Catholicism or Religion were part of my plan. Then, I had a profound Religious experience when I was twenty-five years old and, it happened that two Mormon Missionaries came knocking on my door right while I was in the middle of this transformation. I remained a member of the Mormon Church for about five years and subsequently left to become a Protestant, and have been one ever since.

Now I don’t want to argue whether or not of either of these two previously mentioned denominations are “true” because, both gifted me with a closer relationship to God, and for that I am grateful. But, I am slowly beginning to realize that I am lacking an in-depth knowledge of God’s word. I have been diligently re-reading my Bible daily since beginning this blog but admit, I’m deficient in truly knowing and understanding some of God’s greatest gifts to mankind. For instance, “progressive sanctification” is a term I’ve just heard about recently, and I confess, I fully don’t understand the concept of “God’s Grace,” although I have experienced it many times. All I truly want is to know Him more.

I welcome comments from readers whose intent is to impart biblical knowledge.  Thank you for visiting my blog today.

~ by Andrea T on July 11, 2008.

11 Responses to “Psalm 119:7”

  1. anonymous,
    I’m not sure I’ve heard the term “progressive holiness” but it sounds somewhat like a term I am familiar with which is “growing in holiness”. That would mean, in that case, to allow your will to be over-ridden by the will of the Holy Spirit as to be conformed more and more into the image and character of Jesus. The closer we are to God, the more we realize how our sins grieve our Father, and by His Spirit, we are strengthened to sin less than to be over-taken by temptation.

    May God bless you on your continued journey.

    Tim

  2. On the topic of God’s grace (which is so beautiful and glorious that no one can fully comprehend it), I highly recommend a sermon by Pastor Mark Driscoll of Mars Hill Seattle. Here is the website: http://www.marshillchurch.org/sermonseries/religionsaves/week_04.aspx

  3. I don’t understand God’s grace either, but I’m thrilled that He gives it to us! Because you want to know Him more, you will. He promises to answer our prayers that are in His will, and that is His will. He is delighted with our desire to know Him and to seek Him. Father, thank You for my precious sister. Please bless her.

  4. To: Becky Stewart, thanks so very much! I will make sure to listen to Mark Driscoll. God bless you!

    To: God’s girl, thank you for being my sister-in-Christ. I’m blessed to know you.

  5. Try Ephesians 5:1-2 to get a better grip on progressive sanctification. Breaking it down it is simply making more holy. We become progressively more holy as we become more Christ-like in our walk. Certainly, one is sanctified when they come up out of the waters of baptism to a new life in Christ, but you grow in His likeness. That’s the idea. After we are saved, it is what we are supposed to do. Hope that makes sense. God bless your journey. Bryan

  6. To: timglass: Thanks so much for your post. I will be regularly visiting your blog… God bless you!

    To: Bryan Shelley: I was hoping you’d respond. I will be studying Ephesians 5:1-2. God bless you.

  7. anonymous,
    Thanks for the blogroll! I’ll be a regular here, too! 🙂

  8. Some resources that have helped me are The New Inductive Study Bible and anything by Brennan Manning. Also just reading the bible helps. I understand God’s grace enough to know that He is faithful in it. I am not sure that we will ever get it on this side of eternity but at the same time we should seek His grace more and more. Keep chasing Him.

  9. Thank you, David, I did read the Ragamuffin Gospel many years ago, (I should read it again) and I will look for an Inductive Study Bible. God Bless you.

  10. Your post reminded me of a lesson I did this week in our Discerning the Voice of God Bible study by Priscilla Shrier. It was about how one way we know God’s voice is that He convicts us of sin, unlike satan who condemns. It referred to John 8 about the woman caught in adultery. From the study:

    “These men didn’t seek to restore her. They just wanted to embarrass and expose her. This is satan’s goal as well…They brought her to Jesus, and He said, ‘He who is without sin among you, let him be the first to throw the stone at her’. The only person qualified was the Speaker, but He didn’t throw the stone. What a great truth. God has the right to condemn us, but He has chosen not to throw stones. He bestows grace and love despite what we have done, because His very nature is love…I know He is wooing me when I feel a soothing conviction that tenderly urges me to respond to His love.

    He doesn’t dismiss or make excuses for her sin; He just doesn’t condemn her for it. His voice will always point out sin but offer grace to continue on in righteousness…When God speaks to us, His words will not heap judgment on us. He reveals our sins to lead us to repentance, but this revelation is buffered with the hope of His grace, love, and another chance. He has already undergone the punishment for our sin once and for all on the cross.” (Jn. 8:11)

  11. […] My online friend was asking about progressive sanctification, or the process of making holy (https://spiritualbattleground.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/psalm-1197/), and I think I’m living her […]

Leave a Reply

 
