Matthew 6:25 And Chicken Of the Sea Tuna

Matthew 6:25 (ESV) “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat, or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?

I open a can of tuna fish and in a few minutes, the stray black cat with glowing, yellow eyes licks the bowl clean. Still snorting and snuffling, he abruptly leaves, only to return to my back door, the next day, and the next. Now, three months later, “Blackie,” darts over to me out of nowhere when he hears my car’s motor and I am returning home from work. His very survival apparently, now depends on me.

I always want to have an extreme hunger for God, just like my part-time pet has for Chicken-of-the-Sea Chunky Light Albacore. In Matthew 6:25, Jesus tries to tell us that our priorities need to be re-ordered so we are much more concerned about our spiritual life with Him, than we are worried about “un-necessary” things of this material realm. Food. Clothes. Aren’t we spiritual beings living in a hypnotic, physical world? Without Him for our real sustenance, we will surely die. “Blackie” the cat knows, without a doubt what he needs for survival. Do we?

Lord God, Oh, that I might have the gift of desperation to seek and search for You every day; to know with certainty that my soul dies a little more each time its divine connection to its source of life, You, is severed. I want to be close to You so I might be able to effectively serve others. Help me so I hunger only for You. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 12, 2008.

6 Responses to “Matthew 6:25 And Chicken Of the Sea Tuna”

  1. I do agree that our spiritual lives need to have priority over our earthly needs, simply because Jesus goes on to say that “your heavenly Father knows that you need them.” (v.32) And if we seek first His kingdom and His righteousness,and these things will be given to us as well. (v.33)

    I also think when we become too comfortable with this notion, we transfer it to others. What I mean is, instead of helping to meet their physical needs, we want to try to meet their spiritual needs first.

    As it says in I John 3:17-18, “If anyone has material possessions and sees his brother in need but has no pity on him, how can the love of God be in him? Dear children, let us not love with words or tongue but with actions and with truth.”

    Just as you show pity for the stray cat, and meet his material need, as God’s children we need to show our brothers in need that same pity.

    Another wonderful post, and a great reminder to always keep God first in our life!

    Blessings to you!

  2. Matthew 6:25 seems to help me when I find the worries of life crashing in. “a hypnotic, physical realm” wow, I had never really thought of it that way before. There are so many things in this world that puts us in a trance. This trance takes our focus off of God. The stereotype is that when a hypnotist brings a person out of the trance he has the ability to make the person sound like a chicken with the snap of the fingers. This is how I imagine it is when we watch commercials. When the commercial snaps its fingers they can distract us from God by telling us that we need to buy now and pay later. They tell us we need more stuff and that we will not be happy until we have their product. We don’t need more stuff. We need more of God.

    Thank you for your encouraging posts.

    Thanks for adding the button.

  3. Tim, I take your comments to heart. Thank you for reaching out to “pull me along” in my spiritual journey. I thank God for you.

  4. David, Yes. It’s like we are living in a trance and our true focus (God) is diverted. I love your button on my site. God Bless you.

  5. Nice haeder that suits your site!

  6. Thanks for all your help, David, I wouldn’t have gotten the idea had it not been for you!

Leave a Reply

 
