Noesis

1 John 4:16 (ESV) So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.

My former husband yearned to have a personal relationship with Christ. Although he went to Bible College, he did not know Christ on an experiential level. I, on the other hand, would often speak of “feeling the Holy Spirit’s presence,” or, “knowing Christ was with me.”

According to Strong’s Hebrew and Greek Dictionaries, the word, “know,” (γινώσκω) in this scripture means:

…to be aware of, feel, have knowledge, perceive, be sure, and understand.”

The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia, further states:

Knowledge is distinguished from opinion by its greater certainty,” and “The highest knowledge possible to man is the knowledge of God…”

Apparently, “knowing” God in 1 John 4:16, is more of an experiential knowing, than that of intellectual knowledge.

In Gary Thomas’ book, Sacred Pathways, the author comments on nine different “spiritual temperaments,” and I am fortunate to be able to recognize many of the ways I worship and love God: through contemplation, activism, asceticism, nature and the senses, to name a few. I’m coming to realize that I am also a “noetic,” or someone who communes with God through direct experience. Many times since my conversion, I have been in ordinary situations and suddenly, everything around me transforms into a luminous, indescribable, ecstatic sensation of being absorbed and enveloped by God. In this mystical instant, I experience a transcendental unity and inter-connectedness. I know with absolute, utter certainty God is with me.

I’m thankful that all of us are unique in our manner of connecting to God. I’m especially grateful that God has allowed me to know beyond a doubt that He is.

Thank You, Lord, for the gift of Your presence and the opportunity to truly know You. Through Your relationship with me, I know this physical life and its illusions are not all there is. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 13, 2008.

3 Responses to “Noesis”

  1. Thank you for helping me keep me centered in God during my day through your posts. I must be reading your site on my reader and haven’t been here in a little bit, because I missed the new header. It is awe-inspiring and fits the theme of your blog so well. May God continue to bless you, through Christ His Son. Amen.

  2. Thank you, I love the new header also. And, your encouraging comments and posts help me! God Bless you.

  3. I like hearing how you worship God. I have experienced some of those same things. That book sounds interesting. Maybe I’ll try to find it on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

 
