Vision Quest

Pro 2:3-5 (ESV) 3…yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understanding, 4 if you seek it like silver and search for it as hidden treasures, 5 then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.

During the earlier years of my spiritual conversion my journey was marked by a few sharp detours. It was 1988 and I was on a Native American Indian Vision Quest with a Shaman and four other people. We were to spend ten days in a wilderness area in Vermont, five of them fasting and apart from our fellow sojourners. All I had with me was a tarp, a sleeping bag and water. At night, I couldn’t sleep listening to the sounds of branches snapping with the weight of an unknown animal near me, and seeing bats fly across the face of an illuminated moon. I was overcome with intense and indescribable fear. Although I “connected with Mother Earth” as we were instructed, I also prayed fervently to Jesus, asking forgiveness and mercy for digressing from my Christian path.

Today, instead of my being on guard against any dramatic “off the beaten path” excursions from Christianity,” I am more sensitive to slight or hidden changes in my faith. I’m trying to be cognizant of when I’m irritated because someone at work isn’t behaving the way I want them to, or when I’m negative about a situation that I think should be different. As I get closer to God, my vision needs to be refocused on the little things before they gain hold and become the profound.

Thank you Lord for all the experiences in my life which served to bring me closer to You. You promised that you would complete the work You started in me. Use me so my life becomes an endless quest to get closer to You. Help me so I do not doubt your word. Amen

~ by Andrea T on July 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “Vision Quest”

  1. That is quite an experience. When you fasted did you vulnerability help you focus on Jesus? I know that wasn’t your point in the experience but since you are His follower and fasting in the Bible is seen as seeking direction from God I was just curious.

  2. I remember the lack of food gave me extreme clarity in thought and, I also felt hyper-aware of my surroundings. Through the clarity of thought, I was able to single-mindedly focus on prayer without having so many mental distractions. It’s almost as if food clouds our mind and acts as a “filter” preventing true spirituality.

  3. The two times I fasted and went for a drive somewhere for the morning to spend time with God, I felt the same way, hyper-aware of my surroundings, of nature around me, like my spiritual eyes had been opened.

  4. Yes. It even seemed as if everything around me was sharper and more clearly defined… like when you go to an optometrist and he suddenly moves all the little dials on the optometric lenses in front of your eyes into “ultra sharp focus”. Our experiences sound similar.

  5. It does sound similar. To me, nature around me seemed more vivid, brighter, more glowy (if that’s a word!). I was unusually aware of the activity around me, insects, the wind, the trees swaying. It all seemed very unreal.

Leave a Reply

 
