THE MIRACLE OF THE SLIPPERS

Matthew 11:28-30 (GNB) 28 Come to me, all of you who are tired from carrying heavy loads, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke and put it on you, and learn from me because I am gentle and humble in spirit; and you will find rest. 30 For the yoke I will give you is easy, and the load I put on you is light.

While reprimanding a student for her inappropriate behavior, I suddenly look down and notice my favorite lounging slippers on my feet, the ones with the hole worn through the right-toe area, and the tattered heel rests…

I am at work, it’s 9:30 AM and I’m wearing bedroom slippers. I am mortified. Has anyone in the student-filled corridors observed this strange phenomenon, I wonder? Are staff too polite to say anything? I’ve been here since 8:00 AM and certainly, someone must have noticed these strange coverings on my feet.

I think about God’s sense of humor while driving home to change into my “work shoes.” He custom designed something powerful (just for me) so I could snap out of the crescendo of stress and anxiety I was experiencing. Yesterday, each time I thought of my “favorite slippers” I laughed, and today I am smiling, still.

My numerous work expectations didn’t change at all on Friday, instead, each crisis and urgent situation was handled in a calm and relaxed manner. God most certainly was with me and He used my slippers to make me aware of his presence. God changed me, in a twinkling of an eye I became new.

Thank you Lord for your love for us. Because of You, I was compassionate and loving to every student and staff I met yesterday. I was at work in Your kingdom, peacefully doing Your will, and full of grace–all because of a pair of comfortable, old slippers. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
