PANDORAS BOX AND PHI 4:6

Phi 4:6 (ESV) …do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Sometimes sleep appears to be the key that unlocks my emotional Pandora’s box. In the morning, instead of feeling rested when the alarm chimes I’m tired. It’s as if relaxation causes the hasp on the lid to loosen and swing open, releasing all the forebodings that were locked away.

Since I’ve begun blogging however, I start my computer first thing upon arising, load my Bible software, read sections from The Word, and fix my thoughts on how my writing can glorify God. Focusing on Him lessens the intensity of the swirling apprehensions, causes the negativities to retreat and the lid to become tightly shut again. Many times, I’m not even aware of how it happened, only that I am suddenly aware of internal peace. This process entails a shift in concentration: I gently pull my attention away from the anxiety and set my eyes only on Him. All glory and honor to you, oh Lord.

Dear Lord, the quiet times I spend in supplication with You clothe me in peace. I have an inner certainty and trust that no matter what happens, You are with me. Your rod and Your staff comfort me. I am prepared to do Your will today. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 21, 2008.

6 Responses to “PANDORAS BOX AND PHI 4:6”

  1. It reminds me of the old tootsie pop commercials, “How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop? The world may never know.”

    How many times during a day do I need to set my eyes back on Him?

    Great thoughts this morning! Blessings to you!

    Tim

  2. Yes, Tim, I need to constantly re-focus again and again on him. Have a blessed day, brother!

  3. Where did I put my spiritual God glasses? They are so easy to lose during the day. Staying in His word and things like blogging for His glory can really help.

  4. Yes, David, I want to “train” myself to do it more and more! Have a great day!

  5. I know I read the bible at night to help me sleep and calm me down. Thank you for reminding I should read and focus on God when I get up as well.

  6. I need to put on His armor to go out into the day…
    Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

 
