The Good Christian

Psalm 86:11 (GNB) Teach me, LORD, what you want me to do, and I will obey you faithfully; teach me to serve you with complete devotion.

Sometimes I take my Christian walk to extremes. I get notions about what a “Good Christian” would do that have no connection to the reality of God’s will for my life. Then, I act on these mistaken ideas, believing that I am becoming more holy by doing so. 

How is a “Good Christian” supposed to act when he/she is treated in an offensive, hostile manner? Doesn’t the Bible say, “Turn the other cheek,” and “Love your enemies?” At what point do we stand up for our own rights, and by doing so, increase the safety and well being for others? Does God truly want Christians to suffer in silence?

I need to bring each and every instance of injustice I encounter to the cross. And, I must carefully listen in silence as, God’s response to my inquiry may be different if the wrongdoing involves only me, “The Good Christian”. When innocent others are also being harmed, my responsibility is far greater and further heightened: I must be certain that I am in His will before I take any action.

Dear Father, Psalm 25:4-5 (GNB) Teach me your ways, O LORD; make them known to me. Sometimes I remain silent when You want me to speak and, oftentimes, I convince myself I’m doing Your will, when I’m really not. I’m trying to learn Your ways and it seems that I err again and again. Will I ever learn what you want for my life? I’ll keep trying, Lord, because You are my only hope. I know you will never leave me. I offer You this day, and all that’s in it, for Your glory and honor. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 23, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Good Christian”

  1. I think God is pleased with our honesty, our willingness to admit that we may have made mistakes, and to be open to hear what He wants us to do. I think that is what He needs to point us in the right direction, to show us His will.

    You are precious to God. You are honored, and He loves you. (Is. 43:4 NLT) May God bless you, sister in Christ.

  2. Remember we are called to pick up our cross. We will suffer injustice as our Lord did and we need to persevere. Though we may suffer, we need not suffer in silence. Silence always helps the agressors and never helps the victims. So we must fight the good fight and bring about justice in society, or our family, workplace, church or community.

    Fight the good fight!
    In Christ,
    Tim

Leave a Reply

 
