On Per Diem Assignment For God

Eph 5:11 (EMTV) And have no partnership with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them.

I just discovered I have been on per diem assignment in my present job. Apparently, I was “stationed” at my daily post waiting, in readiness to be maneuvered into place for my real appointment: exposing a grave wrongdoing at work.

Potentially, many people were aware of this serious injustice, but were too afraid to get involved. I too, resisted involvement every step of the way. And, even now, after my bringing the situation to the light, there is still a remote possibility of imminent repercussion. I’m not afraid.

Yesterday, after my reporting him to the Center Director the day before, I was suddenly called to meet face-to-face with the powerful perpetrator of this misconduct. I was spiritually prepared. After much daily prayer, and even coming home during my lunch hour to pray, I felt like it wasn’t me speaking during the confrontation. Instead, I was relaxed and amazingly serene. There were no preplanned statements in my head as to what I might say or do, just a totality of inner peace and emptiness of thought. I looked at him, with a direct, unwavering stare, and calmly relayed what had occurred. He averted his eyes and seemed to shrink in his seat. When I was finished speaking. He said, “I never said that.” The words I spoke next shocked me: I thanked him, and said nothing further. I did not tell him he was being untruthful, nor did I defend the veracity of my accusation. For some unknown reason, I just politely thanked him and then got up and left the room.

Later, I was called back for another meeting, the corporate investigator who flew in from headquarters, shook my hand and thanked me for bringing the situation to light, as did our local Human Resources Director, and our Center director.

God was using me all along and I didn’t even know it. In reality, I am the right candidate for the job. All my life I have been the only one to call out from the crowd, “Hey. The Emperor doesn’t have any clothes on, he’s naked!” Or, I have been the first (and only one) to stand up for injustice, sometimes at great personal, and emotional cost. But, over the past few years, the adversary has been slowly chipping away at that very special, activist part of me, convincing me that I am a trouble-maker, not a good Christian for stirring things up, and last, no one would be believe me anyway…

I feel most alive when in situations such as these. And, it’s becoming more of a reality for me that God uses us right where we are. With Him, there is no waiting for the ultimate day when we are perfect Christians to put us on special assignment.

Dear Father, You are a God of astounding surprises and wonder. Many times I think I’m on a direct course to Your will for me, and I stand amazed. You take situations in my life and turbulently shake them and transform them into a mixture of greater good and learning. How can I mistrust You? You have shown me time and time again that You want me all for Your own. All of me, right where I am, here, with all my flaws. I surrender my joys and passions to You, for use in service to Your will. Protect me from evil. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 24, 2008.

4 Responses to “On Per Diem Assignment For God”

  1. Praise God for using you to bring that situation to light. Father, please continue to use anonymous. Help her to know your will and be confident about it, and protect her from evil. In Jesus’ Name. God bless you, big sister!

  2. Your reliance upon God rather than pretense of purporting to be Him is truly the humility of Spirit we see in Galatians 5:22-23. Exercise and water the fruit and the blessing will continue to be for you and those to whom you minister. Congratulations. Bryan

  3. I look forward to hearing the details about this on Sunday… I am glad it worked out…

  4. Yes. Sunday is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
