Backpacking, Little Things and 1 Peter 1:15

1 Peter 1:15 (EMTV) …but as He who called you is holy, you also be holy in all manner of life,

Long distance hikers know the weight of their pack must be as light as possible. A heavy backpack causes one to tire easily, walk more slowly and reduce daily miles traveled. I may only have a certain amount of water available before reaching the next spring, and if I’m too tired to walk the five more miles, I could be in grave danger.

Before setting out to hike the Appalachian Trail in 1995, I spent much preparation in pack weight reduction. After making a list of bare bone essentials to take on my journey, I discovered that my pack was still overweight by about 7 pounds. (The recommended “carry” weight is 25% of one’s body weight.) After scrutinizing my necessities, I realized that I could cut out many tiny things in order to attain the overall desired weight reduction. I cut out out sections of maps, leaving only the direct trail area I would need, I snipped tags and strings off my backpack and clothing, I eliminated the extra length on waist and shoulder straps and, even cut paragraphs out of my trail guide. Each time I removed something, I put it on a scale that gaged weight in quarter ounces; each string and every extra length of cord contributed to the overall seven pound overage. But, I did finally attain the desired weight.

Sometimes in my journey to God, I vow to focus on correcting my glaring personality defects and huge sins (like overeating). Oftentimes, when I fail, I end up feeling discouraged and defeated. Perhaps I should be looking instead at small tasks for my starting point. Eliminating one small bad habit here, another there, and who knows, one day I may realize that I’ve won the race…

Thank you Lord for helping me to look at things in a new way. Amen

~ by Andrea T on July 25, 2008.

6 Responses to “Backpacking, Little Things and 1 Peter 1:15”

  1. Wow, again. Your posts always hit home. It (our journey to God) starts with small tasks indeed. On a spiritual level, I haven’t been as faithful about getting into God’s word or devotions this past week while on the physical level, I have been neglecting proper nutrition for not only the past week but also the past few months.

    Also on a different note, can you switch my blog on your blogroll from unfinishedperson to this one with which I sign in here and use at Simply Ecclesia? Or add it? Thanks.

  2. I love your blog “Journeying With the Saints.” I have gladly made the changes you asked. Sigh. I think we all ignore the “little things” thinking they don’t really matter, but, they do! God Bless you. Have a wonderful day and thanks for being a regular visitor!

  3. this was quite a grace-filled posting mom… way to go!

  4. Thanks son! I love you. Mom

  5. Thank you. I don’t always comment because your posts, and I’m not just saying this to be nice, are profound. They make me think and lots of times I don’t know what to say. It’s just like “Awe” not just in awe of your ability to convey God’s grace to others, but awe at God Himself working through you. I truly think that the Holy Spirit brought all of us together at simplyecclesia, even though we might not understand the purpose. But that’s OK. Sometimes you just have to go with the flow…of the Spirit.

  6. Yes. I believe the Holy Spirit brought all of us together at Simply Ecclesia and, He has certainly guided me to an online “family.”

    As for my posts, I pray for clarity; then offer them to God for His glory, and then just write. Yesterday, this post “came out” so quickly, with hardly a revision, I thought it was common and ordinary (as I do with most of my posts). No one is more surprised than me when readers comment and say they are inspiring. The ones I think are the greatest, have hardly any hits! Nuff said. Thanks for your kind words, brother.

Leave a Reply

 
