Pray Without Ceasing

1 Thess 5:17 (ASV) pray without ceasing;

I’m certain I have been heavily influenced by two books: The Way of the Pilgrim, by anonymous, and The Practice of the Presence of God, by Brother Lawrence, when it comes to praying without ceasing.

In the Way of the Pilgrim, a homeless wanderer, recites The Jesus Prayer: “Lord Jesus Christ have mercy on me.” First, saying it two thousand times a day, then twelve thousand, until it becomes a major part of his daily existence and, his whole life is consumed with being in God’s presence.

In The Practice of the Presence of God, a monk assigned to work in the monastery kitchen, decides to wash dishes and chop vegetables as if he were performing the tasks for God. His inspiring little book details the process he uses in order to remain close to his “Source” throughout the day.

I too, have made many attempts at being in continuous communion with God and, I can’t even tell you how long these daily intentions last. I only know that at some point, perhaps even within the first five or ten minutes, my sincere effort and focus imperceptibly melts away and the interruptions of daily life seeps into place.

I know that God views these failed attempts at “constant closeness” with mercy. I am convinced however, He is in the background of my awareness, custom designing an individualized “spiritual practice plan” just for me. All I have to do is remain open and receptive to Him.

For example, once I was in a car embarking on a long trip with non-Christians. I was soon wishing I could listen to some of my favorite Praise and Worship Cd’s instead of the popular, secular love songs playing on the radio. But alas, I was held captive. All of a sudden, I had this overpowering feeling that it was God singing about His love, just to me. The rest of the trip, as each radio voice crooned songs of undying devotion, my awareness alternated between God singing to me, and my singing to Him. No one around me ever knew that I was basking in His presence for the entire trip. Ever since that day, if I’m within earshot of secular music and can’t escape, I’m just as happy. Have you noticed, mostly all modern music is about love!

Jeremiah 31:3 Because I love you with an everlasting love.

Thank You God, for revealing to me another way to be in Your constant presence. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Pray Without Ceasing”

  1. What they [the world] meant for evil, God meant for good.

    A play on Joseph’s words in Genesis, meaning that today these love songs that are written, are written in the mindset of promiscuity. Since God is love, in the purest sense of the word, He can use thoes same words and mean the exact opposite; faithfulness! In turn we can offer them back to God, as a pure sacrifice in love from our heart.

    Whatever you do in word or deed, do all to the glory of God!

    What a great reminder for us today. Thanks for sharing your insight and experience anonymous. God bless you!

  2. I love Brother Lawrence’s book too. Remember, he talked about how God is pleased when we even just think of Him after we’ve been distracted? That makes me feel better.

    That is a great idea with the love songs! I never thought of that. I hope you have a blessed day. Love, your little sister (in Christ)

Leave a Reply

 
