Plans For A Future And A Hope

 

Jeremiah 29:11 (ESV) For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

My earlier writings used to focus on the stress I was experiencing at work. In fact, my anxiety was so unbearable I was actively looking for other jobs. After many weeks of searching to no avail, I finally realized God wanted me to remain in my present position.

Now when I look back, my former complaints seem so inconsequential. Instead, I like my job and don’t want to leave. What changed?

My supervisor is still incommunicado but my expectations of her changed; I no longer look for what she is incapable of giving. She is overwhelmed and unable to supervise any of her staff. I didn’t recognize this before, but prayers and surrendering the situation to God has made all difference. I work for Him. Not only is He my boss, He supplies me with all the information I need to do my job effectively. He provides other staff to inform me about important meetings or upcoming audits or, He puts me in situations where I will overhear a chance conversation that alerts me to new developments associated with my job function. Yesterday for instance, I was standing at the fax waiting for some paperwork, and instead another important message came through that directly impacted my job. Coincidence? I don’t think so. I let my earthly manager “off the hook” and God has taken over to ensure that my job gets done. What a mighty God we serve.

Dear God, I don’t exactly know how it all happened, but I’m not feeling the intense anxiety on my job as I felt before. My work is still the same but, somehow, I’ve changed to see things in a new light. You have made all the difference. Teach me to rely only on You and Your wisdom. Thank You for showing me that I don’t need another job, You are all I need. I feel Your presence watching over me. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on August 5, 2008.

4 Responses to “Plans For A Future And A Hope”

  1. That’s awesome how God has changed your perspective! The same thing happened to me today. I registered my daughter for 7th grade and ran into a mom who also has a child in band. She let me know she was going to the music store next to pick up the music books they must have for the first day of class. I had no idea. Apparently they got a sheet explaining this at the end of last year, but my daughter did not get it. But it didn’t matter. God made sure I got the info. Isn’t that great!?

    Bless you, big sister.

  2. Amen. I often look to Philippians 4:4-8 as a reminder of where my focus needs to be. Thank you for you gentle lesson today. Bryan

  3. I like your thoughts about your job, something for us all to remember.

  4. right now it is a privledge to have a job! May be that to could be a message and it is where the lord wants us for now.So make the best of it because there is truly favor waiting for all of us from him and it is going to go beyond your wildest expetations!1

Leave a Reply

 
