Miracle Books and Micah 5:4

 

Micah 5:4 And he shall stand, and shall feed his flock in the strength of Jehovah, in the majesty of the name of Jehovah his God: and they shall abide; for now shall he be great unto the ends of the earth.

Ten years ago I decided to start to write down all the answers to my prayers in a special book. This was no ordinary tome. It had a silver cover that looked like it contained infinite layers of sparkling, colored stars. Even though it was flat and two dimensional, it was mysterious, just like its contents. If you tried to focus on the outline of one of its radiant spots it quickly changed shape and disappeared into a bottomless universe.

What was even more remarkable, was that after about six months of diligent recordings, I quickly re-named it to, “My Miracle Book.”

I was learning that God did not always answer prayers the way I wanted but, with each successive request and, as I continued to surrender the outcomes to Him, unexpected results appeared, as if a master strategist was at work in my life. There were big miracles and small (apparently, there is no order of difficulty in miracles). Some took a long time, others were answered immediately. All pointed to only one logical conclusion, there is a God and, this God loved me to a depth and degree far greater than I could ever imagine. All I had to do was sincerely pray, believe and surrender.

Although I don’t have my Miracle Book any longer, the memory of its teaching will forever remain in my awareness. Through the simple, regular exercise or writing my prayers to God He revealed His power and greatness to me.

Thank You Lord for all You have done in my life. You drew me closer to You and showed me Your majesty so that I can tell others of Your glory. I am in awe of You. Amen

~ by Andrea T on August 19, 2008.

3 Responses to “Miracle Books and Micah 5:4”

  1. It is interesting to me that some resist the idea of praying in God’s will. Simply said, “Thy will be done, and not mine.” Why would we ever, ever want anything but God’s best in answer to prayer? As always, your words are encouraging. We lead a Tuesday night small group. The last part is dedicated to prayer. We always start with answered prayers form our requests lifted up before. Most weeks, the answers are as many as the new requests. It is faith building indeed to stop, watch what He is doing and then like the one man of many who was healed, go back and thank Him who answered. God bless.

  2. I know. I’m amazed too; I still hear people putting in prayer requests for this or that to happen… it’s so much easier (and wiser) to give it all to Him for straightening out. His answers and conclusions are far reaching and all encompassing. Putting effort forth in my own strngth never brought about solutions like His. I always say, “Lord, do Your will in the situation.” Have a good day, Bryan!

  3. I like what you said about surrendering the outcome to Him. Right on girl! That is so important. Our obedience to Him (answered prayers or not) will bring about a great blessing. Tha cool thing is that, no matter what we pray for or about, is that He actually takes time to listen to us. And, He loves us.

    He already knows what we need and want, but He delights in us coming to him in prayer because it shows that we trust Him and love Him.

    Thanks for the encouragement,
    Tim Van Arsdale
    Author, You’ve Got Spam! a refreshing collection of e-mails regarding mercy ministry.

Leave a Reply

 
