Illusions and 1 Samuel 16:7

 

1 Samuel 16:7 …for the LOD sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.

Ours is a culture hypnotized and seduced by outward appearances. Studies have proven that attractive, slim women have greater success at landing jobs over more qualified, but less physically pleasing applicants. For men, a guaranteed ingredient to help propel them further up the ladder of achievement, is simply to be taller than other male runner-ups in the playing field. Apparently, some of us may have twenty-twenty vision, but we are truly blind.

I’m thankful that God has spoken so firmly about the illusion of outward appearance. His Word gives us a clear formula to discern the true character of a person:

Galatians 5:22-23 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, (23) gentleness, self control…

Dear Lord, Your kingdom is truly not of this world. Your standards are diametrically opposed to what the world values. As we become closer to You, let our own fruits shine forth as a beacon to Your glory. Amen.

 

~ by Andrea T on August 21, 2008.

4 Responses to “Illusions and 1 Samuel 16:7”

  1. Thank you for your post today. May God bless your day, big sister.

  2. anonymous, I hope you’ve had a great week! It’s been trying here, but we all know God is faithful!

    Blessings to you, sis!

  3. Thank Him that He doesn’t look on the outside. I am only 5’6″ unless of course one was to actually measure me, then I would be 5’5″. I used to hate being short but I am learning to be okay with the way God has made me. Thank you for your blog and your help over at Simply Ecclesia. Your recent blog really struck up a conversion (at least I think it was the your recent one.) Not that I am measuring your success by the number of comments… because I am not 🙂 Have good weekend.

  4. Hi God’s girl, I hope you enjoy your concert!

    Hi timglass, I had a terrible week at work (I feel like I’m whining) but, I am trusting in God’s providence…

    Hi David, I’m 5’10” tall and overweight. I used to be slim and turned many heads, now the extra pounds have made me “invisible”. I too have accepted the fact that our culture mostly looks only skin-deep.

Leave a Reply

 
