Matthew 6:26 And Stray Cats

Matthew 6:26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap not gather into barns, and yet your Heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?

The first question my Mother asked me about my preparations for my upcoming South Carolina trip was, “Who is going to feed the two stray cats while you’re gone?” Leave it to Mothers to worry about such things. Of course “Blackie” and “Tiger” are on my “to-do” list: my neighbor upstairs already has a supply of cat food to care for them while I’m away.

Imagine how sad God must feel when we doubt His promises to us.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for wholeness and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

As I look back through my life, I can clearly see how His hand was at work in every situation. Even through my many sorrows and losses, the Master’s touch was with me, and I was transformed (although, I didn’t believe it at the time). I read somewhere once that a miracle is a change in perception. What an awesome thought! I can remain bitter, negative and mistrustful or, through a twinkling of an eye, my entire world view is changed. Miraculous? Yes.

Lord God, I thank you for how You care so much for each and every one of us. You are with us even in our dark nights of the soul. I can feel my faith growing stronger each and every day, even when You seem to be absent, I know You are with me. I trust in You. Thank You for the lessons learned from two stray cats. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on August 27, 2008.

8 Responses to “Matthew 6:26 And Stray Cats”

  1. Thank you for this wonderful reminder from God. Today, I looked at my allowance and saw few money from my wallet. I almost got worried, for “I thought” I could not buy my food until Friday. But thank God, I remembered this verse. Thanks for the beautiful presentation of your stray cats. God bless you.

    (By the way, I thank the Holy Spirit for leading me on your site)

  2. You’re not taking Blackie and Tiger with you on vaca?

    I bet they’ll miss you. But, at least they’ll be well fed. Fun post.

    Tim Van Arsdale
    Author, You’ve Got Spam! a refreshing collection of e-mails regarding mercy ministry

  3. I love your picture. I had a Tiger when I was little (my favorite) and my mom has a Blackie (Blackberry) now. I love your posts and your honest pursuit of God. I know He loves that too about you. Bless you big sis. I pray you have a safe and fun trip!

  4. Hi Yamii,

    I’m so glad you visited my site. I write these posts because I need to remind myself over and over again that He is faithful. I will be taking a visit to your site, too! God Bless you.

  5. Hi Tim,

    Both cats are still pretty shy of people. It’s taken me about four weeks to get the tiger to come into my house, and, even that’s sketchy. She looks nervously around and wants to panic and run at the least sound. On the other hand, Blackie, has now developed the taste of a master chef. He turns up his nose at dry cat food and will only eat certain brands (expensive); darn those cats. They have me wrapped around their paws. (To think my Mother would even ask such a thing!!) She should know better. I wouldn’t consider taking them with me (you were kidding, right?)

  6. God’s girl, I love your tattoo/icon. It’s perfect. I’ll stay in touch while I’m “down south.” I love you, little sis.

  7. It is interesting hearing your stories about your cats. 🙂 I love your new avatar, and I love you too, big sis.

  8. anonymous:

    Yeah, I was kidding. Cats can be finicky (is that spelled right?). But, guys can be finicky too.

    So, Blackie is a sophisticated stray? Very funny. I love it! Thanks for sharing your life with us.

    Tim Van Arsdale

Leave a Reply

 
