The Family of Christians

 

Ephesians 6:24 Grace be with all who love our Lord Jesus Christ with love incorruptible.

I’m packed and ready for my flight to South Carolina today. Because I love to read, whenever I’m away from home I make certain I have Christian reading material with me. In this instance, there is more than enough waiting for me at my son and daughter-in-law’s house.

It brings to mind how much I yearn for a real-life Christian community. Being with other “like-minded” Christians is like scoring a perfect match on a heavenly “E-Harmony”, or some other matchmaking service that links people through their likes and dislikes. Except, in Christianity, the goal isn’t dating; the common purpose is to know and worship Christ on a deeper level.

I moved to this New England area of small towns about two years ago. At first, I was diligent in my search for a church home. But, it seemed the more I tried, the more discouraged I became. These past six months, I have ceased any active effort. Is what I’m seeking is so hard to find? In any case, I will be meeting new members of the Oasis Church plant at Derek and Connie’s home and, I already know, we are “family” through our shared belief in a daily, intense, walk with Christ. I praise God for the committed brothers and sisters I have met through the Christian blogging community, and I’m grateful for the blood of Christ that unites me to my family that I haven’t met yet at Oasis. Through Christendom, we truly have “blood” relatives throughout the world.

Lord, I thank You for Your church, and for brothers and sisters in Christ throughout the world who strive to meet with You and make You a living part of their daily lives. I praise You for my on-line family and for those I have yet to meet. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on August 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Family of Christians”

  1. I am thankful to have you as my sister by “blood” too. I hope you have a great trip, big sis!

  2. P.S. I love the photo. That would make a great avatar. Where’d you find it? Love you sis.

  3. Enjoy your family!

    Both of them!!

    Blessings now and always,
    Tim

Leave a Reply

 
