In His Presence

 

Psalm 27:14 Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the LORD!

I’m discovering subtle differences in my connection to God depending on which medium I use to be in relationship with Him. For instance, when I blog, I feel His presence most completely, as if I am truly united with Him. I’ve noticed that listening to Christian music while I’m doing other things, helps to keep Him in my conscious awareness. Dancing for God in my living room is also a doorway for me to remember Him, as if the physical actions of raising my arms to heaven or swooping down to my knees brings me back to a place of mental stability. At work, I have also acted as if each person I came into contact with is Christ, manifesting in a co-workers body. I’ve had the most difficulty with so-called traditional prayer; I’ve tried to sit quietly and focus my mind on talking to God, but the distractions seem so insurmountable, at times I give up in frustration. I’ve come to believe that each of us has a unique manner of being in relationship with Christ that is custom made for our personality. Uniting with Him is the most important event that can take place in our daily activities and discovering our unique way of expressing Him will be revealed the more we seek Him.

Dear Lord, I trust You to show me new ways of being with You so our relationship can further deepen. Open my eyes to the opportunities around me for being in Your presence more throughout the day. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on September 17, 2008.

5 Responses to “In His Presence”

  1. I love your post. I think you’re right, and we all have different ways of relating to Him based on our personality. Isn’t is great that He is willing to relate to us in the way that works for us? Bless you, big sis.

  2. Beautifully expressed!

  3. What a great observation!

    When I’m praying and become distracted, the moment I notice what I’m doing, I just confess it to God….right there! I used to get frustrated too, now I just say, “Lord, did you see that? I was ditracted! Forgive me Father, and the next time I see/hear/think that distraction, let it remind me of You, so I can praise You even more!”

    That’s the beauty of a personal relationship, isn’t it?

    Blessings and welcome back,
    Tim

  4. Tim, What a great idea to use the distraction itself as a reminder! It’s great to hear from you!

    Kathryn, Thanks for your kind comments.

    Godsgirl, as always, your encouragement and support is cherished.

  5. Amen to that! Sounds like you have found your “Sacred Pathway” and are relaxing in it… how many more of us need to do that…

Leave a Reply

 
