Job 36:15 And Lessons From A Stray Cat

 

Job 36:15 He delivers the afflicted by their affliction and opens their ears by adversity.

The stray, gray tiger cat has been visiting my house throughout the summer. As she allows me to get nearer, I’ve discovered her many medical problems from living in the wild and without nutrition.

First, I treated the fleas, and after applying the smelly, liquid repellent to the back of her neck, she looked at me in disgust, ran away, and stopped visiting me for a few days. Also, despite the hearty diet available at my house, she has been failing to gain weight. My best friend, Audrey, who has much expertise in animal medicine, told me she most likely has worms and gave me a pill to correct this condition. Last night when I gave Tiger this medication she howled and frantically struggled to get away. Again, she fled the safety of my house to retreat back into the wild. She doesn’t know I’m trying to heal her.

In my journey to become more like Him, my Christian walk has become exceedingly uncomfortable at times, necessitating my staying in close, constant, relationship with Christ. Like Tiger, I find myself in situations, that are painful and confusing, yet upon closer inspection and after prayer, I realize that God is shaping me and healing my character. All my stress and worry about events at work and with other people, make me realize I have an inherent fear of man and dependence on the favorable opinions of others. How else would I have known this unless I was in the perfect environment for it to come to light? I can be healed now the condition is diagnosed; I don’t have to run from stressful situations.

Dear Lord, Thank you for showing me the areas I need to surrender to You. It’s so hard to see my own flaws, yet You always provide the circumstances for discovery; all I have to do is ask, “What does God want me to learn from this?”

~ by Andrea T on September 18, 2008.

5 Responses to “Job 36:15 And Lessons From A Stray Cat”

  1. I know just what you mean! Fear of man is my big struggle too! God thank You for revealing this to us. Transform our thinking so that we desire only to please You. Bless my big sis today. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

  2. Little sis, we’re so much alike! Are you sure we don’t have the same DNA?

  3. Wow, how much wisdom you packed into one blog. The Lord is doing something similar with me right now through the ministry He’s called me too. He is showing me so many things about my heart and faith through the struggles of mercy ministry.

    He’s showing me things I never knew were present in my life. I don’t like it, but I love Him.

    Tim Van Arsdale
    Author, You’ve Got Spam!

  4. Your post reminded me of questions that I have forgotten to ask lately… much needed too…
    1. What is it that God is trying to teach me about His love in this situation?
    2. What is it about this situation that I can show the love of God to others?

    I had forgotten and thank you for the reminder…

  5. Nice analogy with the cat! I will just get in line and admit to my own fear of man. God has been steadily helping me to overcome my anxiety over the opinions of others. Heck, I have even written an article. The point was in the title: Don’t Worry About Them.

    I am looking forward to visiting your site, again.

Leave a Reply

 
