Christian Depression Part Two

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Job 36:15 But those who suffer He delivers in their suffering; He speaks to them in their affliction.

Have you ever felt so tired that it is an effort to get up and get dressed? What if a simple task like combing your hair or, retrieving a pair of shoes from another room seems like a major endeavor? Depression is not just a feeling disease, it is a physical illness with clear symptoms and medical cures.

In the depths of my depression I called out God and prayed that He would heal me. His answer? I went to my doctor and she increased the daily amount of my medication. Within weeks, I was feeling as if my vitality was coming back. You see, my anti-depressants don’t make me happy, instead, I have the stamina needed to complete important tasks at hand like making a bed and getting showered and dressed. My problems still exist: the stressful workplace, the extreme demands on my time, the financial worries still remain, but, now I have the willingness to cope with these issues instead of being consumed by them.

Thank You Lord for providing the mechanism to heal those who suffer from this illness. Thank you for helping me realize that something was medically wrong with me. I pray for all the Christians who suffer from this illness and others like it such as attention deficit disorder, bipolar disorder and anxiety. You are the master physician who directs our pathway. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on November 23, 2008.

8 Responses to “Christian Depression Part Two”

  1. Thank you for talking honestly about your struggles. I know it will and has already blessed many people. May God bless you, big sis!

  2. Thank you for your encouragement, litle sis. God bless you!

  3. The fact is that God is with you in the midst of your depression.
    As the three Jewish boys met the pre-incarnate Christ in the furnace, so too shall God meet you where you are. We have all gone through depression of some sort- some more than others. I too go through times of despair. Elijah fell into a deep depression after defeating the false prophets yet God was still able to use him in a mighty way.
    Take heart for God will take you through. Keep your eyes on what is unseen for God knows how to rescue godly men from their troubles.

    God bless you.

    http://www.mlordi.wordpress.com

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog. God bless oyu!

  5. […] reading @ Spiritual Battleground: Christian Depression 2 Posts by Anonymous | Site Search Tags: Christian Depression (2) | Simply Ecclesia Twitter | […]

  6. Wow thanks for the info very informative and helpful. Thanks again I needed to hear this now. God is the Master Physician

  7. The problem is that the church has done very badly at understanding mental illness or helping people with it.

    My experience is probably typical:

    http://www.ecalpemos.org/2011/02/christian-churches-depression-and.html

    • It’s truly unfortunate that the experience of many Christians is that they are ostracized when they reveal they have a mental illness or worse, their church tries to tell them that God can heal their depression (or other illness) and they don’t need to take their medications.

Leave a Reply

 
