Luke 15:32 He was lost but now he is found

Luke 15:32We had to celebrate this happy day. For your brother was dead and has come back to life! He was lost but now he is found.

When I was distanced from God I frequently was prompted with inner observations.  A prompting would indicate that my absence from God’s presence had to do with my choosing to drink and I should stop.  I pooh-poohed each of these ridiculous inner alerts by thinking of all my Christian friends who have a glass of wine or two nightly. “If they can do it, why can’t I?” I convinced myself.  It appears that some can handle the utter hypnotic effects of alcohol.I can’t. Somewhere, written in God’s heart, I’m sure, this regulation was designed just for me.

Since I’ve stopped drinking I want to be in His presence. I want to listen to Christian Music. I want to praise and give Him thanks for everything in my life. (Not bad for someone recently in a car accident who has wiped out a tiny bank account in order to survive a few weeks of disability.)  I feel safe and secure. Nothing can or will harm me. I have Jehovah, King of the Universe, rejoicing that I’m back.

Thanks God for being a God of forgiveness and love.  Your grace is so hard to accept at times. Yet, I know without a doubt, You love me, just the way I am. I fight Your love, thinking that a “hidden catch” will reveal itself… none ever has.  Bless me, and show me how to open my arms wide to accept all that You want to give me.  In the name of Jesus Christ, Your son, amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 13, 2010.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.