Hebrews 11:1 Alcohol and Faith

Hebrews 11:1 (LRB) What is Faith? It is the confident assurance that what we hope for is going to happen. It is the evidence of things we cannot see.

When I was drinking I wanted so badly to stop but, it seemed I was in a cyclone of feelings and events that kept me right where I was. 

I would awaken in the morning determined to not stop at the liquor store on my way home from work, but to no avail.

I tried “white knuckling” it but the longest I lasted was for about three weeks.  In denial, I also convinced myself that I could still wake up early, make it to work and have a full productive day so, what harm was there in what I was doing?

Step Two in Alcoholics Anonymous says, “Came to believe that a power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.” As each day progressed without the drink I slowly came to realize an exciting thought, “I’m going to stop drinking even after I complete this medication.” Without a doubt… I knew it in my heart that it was so. (I was on medication at the time that interacted with alcohol and made one very sick. I had to stop.)

While I was still on the medication there were also a few days where I still had some fears… “What if I do go back to drinking? What if I do get cravings so badly that I have to drink?” What resulted instead, was a total, inner confidence that God can and would heal me.

I have not had a single craving since I stopped the medication, in fact, I have told my family doctor and all my providers I have a problem with alcohol. I also told my family and friends that I couldn’t drink anymore.

Now that I am out of the hospital (I was finally discharged yesterday from the partial day hospitalization program) I need to find a Christian 12 Step group. I am confident I will find one, with the Lord’s help.

Dear Father in Heaven, A sparrow doesn’t fall without your noticing the event. You care so much for us You are waiting for the tiniest acknowledgement of belief from us so You can unleash Your mighty power. You took away the desire for alcohol, now the next step is up to me to find a group for support. I trust You will guide me in the right direction. I am so grateful that You are my loving Father. Amen

~ by Andrea T on July 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
