Spiritual Vision and Song of Songs 2:13

Song of Songs 2:13 (LRB) The fig trees are budding and the grapevines are in blossom. How delicious they smell! Yes! Spring is here! Arise, my beloved, my fair one and come away.

As long as I was drinking, I didn’t think about anything else. Once I stopped, I bought a wildflower book and started to identify the early summer flowers for my region.  I found myself parking at roadsides and wastelands again… just to get a photo of a flower.

I wanted to be where the wild things are.  Wildflower identification was an important pastime for me when I was young and just to be able to find “old friends”and return to doing something I love has been a wonder to me.

Dear Father in Heaven, Thank You for bringing me back from the depths of despair. The alcohol was so hypnotic and its effects relaxed me so much I didn’t realize how much of my life I was giving up. I lost Spring and Summer wildflowers for the past two years. Thank You for bringing me back to life so I could smell their fragrance again.

~ by Andrea T on July 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “Spiritual Vision and Song of Songs 2:13”

  1. I love looking at the wildflowers too! When I rode with Dave this last week through AR/MO, there were tons of beautiful wildflowers along the side of the highway, different from those at home. I tried to take pictures, but it didn’t work too well flying by at 65 mph!

    Anyway, so glad you are feeling better! Isn’t it awesome to come out of something like that and be able to see God’s blessings again as if for the first time? Blessings, Jen

    • Hi God’s Girl,

      That’s why we really connected a few years ago. We recognize so much in each other that we love… love of God, people, the Bible, serving, and now wildflowers. Thanks for your encouragement!

      anonymous

Leave a Reply

 
