Spiritual Coincidences and Ephesians 6:16

At all times carry faith with you as a shield; for with it you will be able to put out all the burning arrows shot by the evil one. (GNB)

Just yesterday I wrote to a woman of prayer and asked her to pray for me so I would find a Christian Recovery group as I knew I could not recover alone… I needed others.

This morning, upon reading the daily devotional Jesus Calling, the scripture for today was Ephesians 6:16.  I usually read the background information on the chapter first and Ephesians includes letters Paul wrote to the disciples after he left Ephesus. The disciples were left in a city where there was much worship of the goddess Diana and the disciples needed a lot of encouragement to be in this city preaching without Paul.  The Recovery bible specifically states that we need to make God number one in our lives, nothing else… and all good will follow.

Ephesians 6:16 tells us that if I put God first, all fears will be put aside. Recovery groups are very important but the preparation beforehand is my Making Christ number one in my life. He will provide the rest.

I was placing my priorities in a recovery group before I was placing it in God. Ironically, AA tells us the same thing as a Christian group does (put God first) but, sometimes the group is emphasized before God.

Dear God,

Thank You for putting my priorities in oder this morning and aligning my will with Yours. I’m going to consider it spiritual intervention that You corrected my thinking so that I would place You above a group. You will provide all the rest. I’m not afraid. I trust you. Thank you. Amen 

~ by Andrea T on July 19, 2010.

2 Responses to “Spiritual Coincidences and Ephesians 6:16”

  1. You are being blessed with deep wisdom, one little step at a time. But that is how we walk, one step at a time, all the way to the goal.
    I’m praying for you. Please, pray for others less fortunate than you are.
    Thank you.

    • Dear diocesan hermit,

      I’m learning that prayer and Bible study need to be primary in my life. Thank you for your comments. I will take your advice to pray for others less fortunate than I. Thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply

 
