John 8:12 and Obedience

John 8:12 (ESV) Again Jesus spoke to them saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Despite my getting good news yesterday about a situation that was bothering me, I forgot to thank God for His promise of provision and His proof of intervention, until today.

And, upon arising this morning I didn’t feel like praying at all and resisted all attempts at doing so. I actually had to force myself to do my reading from Jesus Calling and did say a short, perfunctory prayer… not the usual fifteen to twenty minutes that I have ben spending daily. I slowly realize that John 8:12 is about obedience and not effect… praying when I don’t feel like it and, not discounting my prayer just because I don’t feel the sense of peace and connectedness inside doesn’t mean that my efforts are not seen by God. I am so human and broken I cannot reside on the mountaintops in His presence every day when the true test of character is to I pray when I don’t want to.

Thank You God for teaching me. I always want to walk with You in the dizzying heights of peace and serenity. Thank You for showing me that just because I can’t feel Your presence doesn’t mean that You have forgotten me.  Help me to learn true obedience to You and to give thanks in all situations, not just when You answer my prayers.  Amen 

~ by Andrea T on July 23, 2010.

2 Responses to “John 8:12 and Obedience”

  1. 1. Thanks for the encouragement and the message about walking in obedience.

    2. I found it, curious to read three unrelated posts from three different sites and the story of Peter walking on water. Curious but not coincidence. Thank you LORD for the way you orchestrate your messages. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
