Romans 8:38 – 39 and God’s Assurance

Romans 8:38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, 39 nor height nor depth nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

My financial situation is causing me worry. I have a tendency to catastrophize and envision myself soon homeless and living in a shelter. I tried Bible readings and prayer this morning but, fear has a tendency of causing trust in God to fade. I opened up a book by Max Lucado, Fearless and I was transported away to the times of Jesus and being reminded of how trusting in God doesn’t mean I’m protected from the adversities in life.  Trust means believing that all things work together for good for those who love God and surrendering to His will guarantees an outcome that is orchestrated by God. If He is with me how can His plans be incorrect?

Dear Father in Heaven, When I look back over my life I realize You were there with me, even in the midst of tragedy and loss You were guiding the way to make good come out of everything. What I thought was disaster and doom turned out to be You looking out for my best interest.  Please increase my belief so that faith replaces fear and I claim the assurance of Your promises. Amen

~ by Andrea T on July 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “Romans 8:38 – 39 and God’s Assurance”

  1. I love this prayer. Thanks for sharing it.

  2. Painful but beautiful post again. It’s very true that trust often times means for us that our troubles will disappear, vanish, so we won’t have to worry anymore and that’s it. But that’s not “it”. As you express it through the quote, we still need to do everything that is in our hand, but especially, above all, surrender and accept every outcome knowing that God is in the weaving of our efforts with the circumstances for our greatest good.
    You have a lot of courage, faith, and trust. Certainly the Spirit is with you.
    Peace and prayer.

Leave a Reply

 
