Romans 12:12 and Hope

Romans 12:12 (NIV) Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

As I read my daily devotional “Jesus Calling” and its related Bible verses I realize how deeply ingrained the concept of a fearful, demanding and performance-based God is etched into my brain. Try as I might, when change comes about, I immediately think it’s a form of spiritual retribution meted out by God for some wrong I committed.

Thank God I’m beginning to see the light of day to realize first and foremost, we serve a loving, forgiving God. And… this God is anxiously waiting for us to open our hearts and minds to His concern and protection. He will not give us more than we bear.

Dear Abba, You have brought to my awareness the flaws in my thinking about You. To believe that there is something I must do or perform before I receive Your love is a serious error in thinking. Now that this concept is in the forefront of my thinking help me to remember to look at all situations “as if” they were sent to me for my greater good. All the evidence I need is to look through my past: even through the most seemingly painful lessons in my life, You meant it all for my good. Thank You for loving me unconditionally. Amen

~ by Andrea T on July 27, 2010.

One Response to “Romans 12:12 and Hope”

  1. God love my friends

Leave a Reply

 
