1 John 4:18 and the Realization

1 John 4:18 (NIV) There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

I remember many years ago praying fervently that God teach me how to love.  Somehow, I knew I was in short supply of this important component of living. I remember a short while later seeing hearts everywhere around me: in the clouds, in the shapes of little rocks on the sidewalk, in the foam at the bottom of a teacup, in the swirl of autumn leaves left in a pile outside my window and in newly formed soap bubbles in the kitchen sink.  The thoughts consumed my mind: are the hearts forming in reaction to my request or, have there always been these shapes and I just didn’t notice them? It didn’t seem to matter, I was seeing them and every time I did, it made me focus on a loving God who calls out me from the everyday, mundane order of life to remind me of His infinite love.

I feel like some of my heart has closed off again.  The trials of life and disappointments from people harden it a bit more with each incident. If love drives out fear I need to fill my heart with love.

 Lord, teach me again how to love so I might become closer to You and not be so fearful.  Open my heart to trust in You and Your promises. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
