Persistent Cats and Matthew 22:37

Matt 22:37 (NIV) Jesus replied, “Love the Lord Your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.”

My cat is so persistent about wanting me to pet him he will awaken me two or three times during the night for more affection. Lately, I’ve had to lock him out of my bedroom in order to get a good night’s sleep.  Apparently, last night I didn’t shut the door tightly enough and he was on my bed at 4:00 AM meowing and rubbing his nose all over my face. Of course, within minutes I was wide awake and unable to go back to sleep. Once awakened, I certainly didn’t feel like doing Bible readings.

After feeding Blackie and letting him out, I did manage to go back to sleep for about an hour or so.  I certainly felt more willing to rest in God and do my Bible readings after getting additional sleep. My first thought was that I had to be as determined as my cat to be in God’s presence in order to be a good Christian. After sitting quietly, however, the thought came to me that in my developing relationship with God, I must remember He is not a ruthless taskmaster expecting me to be immediately disciplined enough to meet with Him no matter how tired or overwhelmed I am.  I am believing that He wants me to discover Him, first and foremost as a loving, gentle Father.

Dear Father, thank You for showing me Your true countenance at this point in my life.  I need Your love not Your condemnation. Thank You for Your grace that sets us free.  Help me to learn more about You as an encouraging, kind Father who first and foremost, wants me to learn to love You.  Amen

*To my readers, if you are just returning to Christianity and you want to learn more about God’s grace there are many resources available at Plain Truth Ministry’s website. Greg Albrecht’s ministry is helping me learn much about God’s grace.

~ by Andrea T on July 29, 2010.

3 Responses to “Persistent Cats and Matthew 22:37”

  1. Dear S.B.
    I don’t know if you realize how blessed you are and how lovingly the Spirit is hovering over you. Your insights into the spiritual life coming out of simple facts of life are beautiful hymns of praise to the tenderness and humility of the Father who is so present with you -and with all of us- but always hiding as a shy lover who doesn’t want to overwhelm or impose on the beloved.
    Thank you for being you.
    Peace.

    • Dear diocesan hermit,

      I appreciate your encouragement. Everything that is happening to me feels so natural and not out of the ordinary; I wonder if God sent your supportive words to me also to let me know I’m on the right path?

      Thank you for your response.

  2. We all need affirmation in our Journey, and someone to witness our struggle.
    This encouragement is a face of spiritual accompaniment, the precious ministry also called spiritual direction.
    You are in my prayer. Peace be with you.

Leave a Reply

 
