1 Chronicles 29:13 and Lavender Air Freshener

1 Chronicles 28:13 (NIV) Now, our God we give You thanks, and praise Your glorious name.

Shortly after letting my cat out this morning a horrible smell slowly started to waft into my bedroom. My nostrils quivered as I tried to identify the sickening odor. SKUNK! I rushed around, almost tripping, to close the remaining windows before my house was filled with the overpowering stench. Blackie must have disturbed the animal and it responded with its natural means of defense.

I was thinking about worry and fear this morning and realizing how overpowering these strong emotions can be in deterring one from having a close relationship with God.  Like the Lavender, plug-in air freshener in my living room that is starting to successfully drive away the negative aroma, thoughts of apprehension can be dissolved by thanking God for what I have in my life. How can one be anxious when one recognizes all the gifts God has given?

Dear Abba, Thank You for all You have done and are doing in my life. Thank You for this time of rest and recovery where I am learning the new skills of living simply and without extravagance.  Thank You for loving me and guiding me back to You. Amen.

~ by Andrea T on July 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “1 Chronicles 29:13 and Lavender Air Freshener”

  1. When I was a boy we had an encounter with a skunk; it ended up under out trailer and it really stunk up our house for several days. It even got into our clothes! YUCK

    Great post and thoughts

    • Skunks are certainly not my favorite animals! I was sprayed (a direct hit) when I was young and I’ll never forget it as long as I live. Thanks for leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

 
