Romans 8:39 and Unworthiness

Romans 8:39 (NIV) “…neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Jesus Christ, our Lord.

My Jesus Calling devotional had exactly the message I needed to hear today about God’s love. Up to today, I have been believing that I had to pray more to have God remove my fear and anxiety about my financial situation.  It suddenly occurred to me that I am still struggling with a sense of unworthiness and lack of belief that God could love me.

I recall having this struggle most of my life… feeling abandoned, alone and unloved. How could anyone love me, was my constant refrain. How could God care enough about my present fearful situation to want to take care of me or provide for me?

This morning my prayer is Lord, open up my awareness to Your love for me and help me believe that You love me as Your worthy child. Grant me the gift of  knowing that You will never abandon me or desert me. Help me to trust in You, Amen

~ by Andrea T on August 1, 2010.

7 Responses to “Romans 8:39 and Unworthiness”

  1. Your self honesty is very touching. We all share the feelings you describe.
    But the contemplative stops looking at him/herself and looks only at God who is LOVE. God loves -you and me- because is the only thing God can do, love, and love, and love.
    Aren’t we blessed? Can’t we trust LOVE?
    Our trust in spite of not feeling like it is our love response to LOVE.

    You are a living prove of God’s constant care for us through your posts. The insights that you record and comment upon cross our minds all the time. We can choose to dismiss them, or we can select them as pearls among the thousands of thought of the day. And by doing that, by paying attention they become living jewels that we can put on in our day.

    Peace and blessings upon you.

  2. How are you Andrea? I’m praying for you.
    Peace!
    Your sister in Christ

  3. Your blog is beautiful. I have a friend who is seeing hearts everywhere also and have forwarded your pages to her. Please offer a way to subscribe via email or Feed Blitz/Burner in addition to reader. Thanks.

    • Thank you, Nancy… I still see hearts everywhere although, they are misshapen and nowhere near as perfect as before. The experience has stayed with me all these years and I wonder if I’ll “see hearts” as long as I live? Hopefully, by next week I’ll add more options for feeds. Thanks so much for your kind comments.

  4. What a touching message. Feelings of unworthiness come from the lies of the enemy and never from God. I also once shared your struggle. God bless you my friend!

    • Hi Marianne,

      I still struggle with unworthiness. The times I am closest to God are the times I don’t feel unworthy… or, maybe, it’s a different feeling… feeling insignificant to be in His presence perhaps. Thanks for visiting…

Leave a Reply

 
