In His Presence

Some mornings I attempt to be in God’s presence but it’s almost impossible. For example this morning… at 6:00 AM I read my morning devotional and assorted Bible readings but my mind refuses to focus. My thoughts are scattering like a directionless fall wind blowing dry leaves in endless formations. None have a chance to settle into a restful peace.

I leave the computer, dress, brush my teeth, wash dishes and sit again at the blank screen… I experience frustration … why even bother to write? What do I have to say to encourage myself or others? Why write if I have nothing to say?

But I persist. An idea suddenly comes: I’ll write about not being able to compose anything of value this morning in my struggle to be with God. A thought suddenly flashes through my awareness, am I trying to commune with God in order to feel His resultant peace and assurance? Instead, what if my sole motivation for our relationship is for the purpose of pleasing Him and being obedient?

I believe He sees my effort and is pleased that I make these deliberate attempts to honor Him.

Dear Lord, It is hard for me to “connect” with You this morning but, I know above all You love me and just because I don’t feel your presence doesn’t mean You aren’t with me. Help me to persist in thinking about You often today to glorify You with no expectations of return.
Amen

~ by Andrea T on August 14, 2012.

2 Responses to “In His Presence”

  1. Hi there,

    I know what you’re talking about when it comes to leaning on God, the Father for story ideas. It’s not easy. It took me, a while to learn to sit, pray and just write. What I found most amazing is that my Father cares about what I’m interested in. Of course, he will seek to steer me, a way from things that are not good or sinful in His Eyes.

    Just keep writing and trust the Spirit to guide your writing.

  2. Thank you! I definitely will remember to just sit, pray, write and trust the Spirit.

Leave a Reply

 
