Holy Spirit Guide Us Into Prayer

1Ch_16:9  Sing praises to the LORD! Tell about his miracles.

1Ch_16:23  Everyone on this earth, sing praises to the LORD. Day after day announce, “The LORD has saved us!”

Psa_7:17  I will praise you, LORD! You always do right. I will sing about you, the LORD Most High.

Psa_13:6  You have been good to me, LORD, and I will sing about you.

I just realized something important today, the struggles I have with morning time prayer have been a repeated lament throughout my Christian life.  If I look back through this blog I can see this familiar theme written about so many times.  Over and over I chastise and condemn myself for not praying at a self-designated time… no wonder I so vehemently resist.

For the past four days I have been listening to my Christian music all day:  while I’m doing my household chores, during writing times and just when I’ve been home.  Music and songs of Praise and Adoration transport me immediately into His presence and infuse me with a sense of the Holy, reverence, honor and gratitude.  So… because I actively didn’t pray at 7:00 AM during each of these past four days isn’t it illogical of me to think that I haven’t communed with our Creator?  A resounding “yes.”

During the times of “listening” …when I shut the music off long enough to go food shopping or to the Laundromat, I find I have profound insights that float into my awareness.  It’s as if music and singing is a doorway that has opened inside for me to pay attention to the Holy Spirit’s directives.  Lord, I know you don’t want us to chastise and condemn ourselves.  Yours is a Gospel of forgiveness and Grace.

Praise You almighty God.  Please keep revealing to me the areas where I keep You distant and separate from me.  Free me from these self-initiated imaginings that try to persuade me that there is some special formula I need to make You love me more.  Keep guiding my steps toward You through the Holy Spirit’s promptings.  Help me to open myself to Your mercy and love.  Amen

 

 

~ by Andrea T on October 4, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
