Regret and the Compassion of Our Savior

 1 John 2:12 I am writing to you, little children, because your sins are forgiven for his name’s sake.

I’ve prayed each morning for the past five consecutive days. I’m not sure if I feel any different but I have been having many insights about my character defects–and, I have many.

Perhaps God doesn’t reveal them to us until we are close enough to Him and know Him well enough  so we are  assured He is with us through the pain of this self-revelation.  I truly do feel deep regret for all the people I’ve hurt through out my life. regret because I know there isn’t any way to go back to re-do or “fix” the retaliatory actions on my part.  Pain because knowing the hurt I’ve deliberately inflicted on others is shocking.

During these past five days I’ve also been able to see these individuals who hurt me through God’s eyes of compassion and love.  I see they didn’t realize the deep pain they were inflicting on me… they didn’t know what they were doing.  What’s amazing to me is that I can only see them the way God sees them after I’ve prayed and spent time with my creator.

Along with this deep regret I am learning the breadth and depth of our Savior’s compassion for us … seventy times seven He forgives us and,seventy times seven He also forgives them too.

Dear Father, Your Holy Spirit guides me to this place of forgivenesss and compassion during my prayer time.  Thank You for showing me the amazing depths of Your love for all of us.  Help us all to be aware of those who hurt us and their need for our love and forgiveness and Yours.   Amen

~ by Andrea T on October 19, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
