Immanuel: God With Us

GodWithUs

Joh 14:16  I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, who will stay with you forever.

Joh 14:17  He is the Spirit, who reveals the truth about God. The world cannot receive him, because it cannot see him or know him. But you know him, because he remains with you and is in you.

Believing the Holy Spirit resides in me is a difficult concept to grasp. There are times when I am aware that something fills my being with a sense of love and peace; this usually occurs when I spend more than ten minutes in perfunctory prayer or when I focus without distraction. I glide through the day effortlessly as if a pathway is open for me to follow. Negative events occur and I know I am safe I am not worried or afraid; God is with me I’m certain.

I usually attribute this “Presence” as being outside of me, only entering my being when the conditions are “right.” To be honest I am sometimes motivated to pray solely for this resultant feeling of peace and tranquility but, my desires are not usually granted. I am also aware of my slant toward a performance-based belief which implies that there is always something I “must do” in order to experience God’s presence.  Yet, I know this manner of believing is certainly not Biblical. Jesus is saying the Holy Spirit resides in me now and apparently just being in relationship with my Heavenly Father is the prerequisite for Its indwelling to make Itself known to me.

Mat 28:20  …and I will be with you always, to the end of the age.

~ by Andrea T on June 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
