Jehovah-shammah: The Lord is There

7-Jehovah-Shammah

Jeremiah 29:11

New International Version (NIV)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

I worry. I have anxiety over my car’s breaking down and major repairs needing to be fixed in my RV. I am uneasy about the state of my health and whether or not the plans I’ve made for my future will come to pass. I am retired, live alone in the middle of nowhere and the nearest family I can depend on is 1,000 miles away. More often than not I am afraid. “What if I have a heart attack no one will know,” I often ask myself.

As you can imagine this stress causes much anxiety. Sometimes the panic is disquieting and my future appears so foreboding I can’t sleep at night and I overeat. This is not a recommended way to live.

Since I have been meditating on the names of God I am comforted to learn that He is also the God of my tomorrows. He already knows what lies ahead in my future and whatever happens, He is there watching for me. He is the God of my future and when I ponder on His word I know He will guide me along on the best pathway if I only trust Him and stay in communication with Him. I need only to be aware of the soft voice of the Holy Spirit whose messages are carried upon the gentlest of internal pathways, barely imperceptible unless I have stilled my mind to listen for His teachings.

Dear Abba, Thank You for reassuring me and allaying my fears when I meet with You in prayer and meditation. Concerns and anxiety disappear as if they never existed and I am calm. I am used to watching out for myself and many times I’m not even aware that I have taken my will back thus blocking Your intentions. Help me to rely on You and trust that You are in control. Amen

~ by Andrea T on June 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
