Dog Treats, Trials and James 1:2-3

DSCN8351Jas_1:2 my friends, consider yourselves fortunate when all kinds of trials come your way,

Jas_1:3 for you know that when your faith succeeds in facing such trials, the result is the ability to endure.

Ever since I adopted Dixie from the local animal shelter eight months ago I have been unable to entice her to do what I want by offering her dog treats. Dixie’s usual response to a culinary luxury is to sniff and then turn away with what appears to be a look of disdain. Unfortunately, most of the obedience training manuals use these canine delicacies to teach ones pet how to be social in a human world.  Dixie has come a long way but she still wants to chase squirrels and cars, bark at the birds outside her favorite window and jump up delightedly on all visitors. We will persevere.

Today, I realize I have also been trying to get God to do what I want by offering Him heartfelt prayers of petition and promises of sacrifice if He will rescue me from my trials. He has not done what I have asked and it appears there isn’t any chance in the near future he will honor my request.  I turn to my Bible to read its comforting phrases:

Luk_11:9 and so I say to you: Ask, and you will receive; seek, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you.

Luk_11:10 for those who ask will receive, and those who seek will find, and the door will be opened to anyone who knocks.

A slight prompting urges me to look further:

Jas_4:3 and when you ask, you do not receive it, because your motives are bad; you ask for things to use for your own pleasures.

Is that what I’m doing—looking for an easy way out? I suspect so. Apparently God knows far more than me what needs to be done to polish my rough edges as, endurance and patience are two qualities in me that need further development.  

Dear Abba,

I’m learning there are no short-cuts to eternity.  Increase my faith and trust in you during these times of hardship. Change my thinking so I am able to thank you and offer you praise in all situations and through financial pressures. Continue to do your will in me so that my life will serve as an offering to you and your plans for me.  Thank you for your word which gives me comfort and direction.  Amen

 

~ by Andrea T on July 23, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
